Skip to main content

Phoenix: Nursing

What to sign up for and how, assignment related suggestions, and general information

PNR203 Maternal-Newborn Nursing Additional Reading Materials

Recommended by other nursing students

EBN Resouces

What is Evidence Based Nursing?

Evidence based nursing is a part of the larger scope of evidence based practice.  One of the most common defintions of evidence based practice comes from Dr. David Sackett. He describes EBP as:

"...the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." 

Sackett, D. Evidence-based Medicine - What it is and what it isn'tBMJ 1996; 312:71-72. (Look for this article in ProQuest)

 

The following diagram can help illustrate the components that go into evidence based practice:

Schardt, C., & Mayer, J. (2010). Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine

Resource Type of Evidence Level in Evidence Pyramid
AHRQ Evidence Reports Guidelines, Evidence Summaries Summaries
Campbell Collaboration Library Systematic Reviews Syntheses
CINAHL RCTs, cohorts, case-control studies Single Studies
Clinical Evidence Evidence Summaries Summaries
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Systematic Reviews Syntheses
DARE Abstracts of Systematic Reviews Abstract or Syntheses
DynaMed All types Meta-search engine
EMBASE Bibliographic database for biomedical and pharmaceutical literature Single studies and Systematic reviews
Evidence Based Nursing Journal (available in the library) Research studies and reviews - critically appraised Synopses of syntheses and synopses of single studies
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) Guidelines Summaries
Natural Medicines Comprehensive database Evidence Summaries, reference monograph Summaries
PUBMED Clinical Queries (MEDLINE) Research articles Single studies and syntheses
PUBMED Systematic Reviews Systematic Reviews Syntheses
Registered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO) Guidelines Summaries
SumSearch All types Meta-search engine
TRIP (Turning Practice Into Research)  All types Search engine
UpToDate Evidence Summaries Summaries
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) Guidelines Summaries
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database Summaries
Note: Some resources are by paid subscription only.    
     

This series from AJN is a good introduction to evidence-based nursing.  

LISTEN Project applying Evidence-based Nursing Practice

Online Training Did you know that nurses must possess the skills to extract evidence-based information from online computer resources in order to provide the highest quality nursing care? In other words, nurses must be information literate. Did you also know that in the absence of information literacy skills, evidence-based practices cannot be implemented? The LISTEN (Learning Information Seeking and Technology for Evidence-based Nursing practice) project aims to address these issues and then some.

Loading ...

Have a Question? We are here to help!

You can also reach us by calling the LRC. For IM chat click on the AskUs button.

Please state your location/campus in the email.

NCLEX Resources

Your best resource for passing your tests are your teachers!
But if you need more assistance, here are a few sites that might help.

 
National Council State Board Nursing provides comprehensive information about the test, test preparation, test plans, and what to expect on test day.

Quizlet is a free online learning tool to create study flashcards.  Share cards with others and use on mobile devices.

Mighty Nurse Free skills assessment testing, along with testing tips, advice, inspiration and cartoons. Practice Questions 

Nursing Web Resources

Assessment

Head-to-toe assessment create February 2016, Denver School of Nursing

Dr. Prodigious "Heart and Lung Sounds Collection" collection of 64 sounds, easily identified by title by Dr. Ghanashyam Vaidya.

Hawknurse (on Youtube)  short videos covering-Physical assessments, Inter muscular injections, Vitals, I.V. treatment, Transfers, Catheters, Nursing Diagnoses, Meds prep, and administration

Anatomy / Physiology / Pathology

Mayo Clinic Symptom Checker-Foot pain? Headache? Sore throat? Skin rash? Use this guide to find out what's causing your symptom.

Healthline-Human Body Maps- an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. Users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.

MEDtropolis: Home of the Virtual Body- An interactive guide to the body systems in English or Spanish. Find disease, condition, and injury fact sheets for more than 6500 conditions in the library. Watch video animations on medical procedures and wellness.

The Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals: Symptoms-

The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Symptoms-

Drugs / Dosages / Math / Calculators

A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine - sites and resources compiled by the University of California.

Lab Tests Online- designed to help patients or caregivers to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. A peer-reviewed site produced by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

MDcalc- for medical professionals to help do calculations and process algorithms and scores.

The Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals: Clinical Calculator- calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, abbreviations and useful sites.

Fundamentals / Theory / Terminology

Nursing Theory-a list of major nursing theorists who have contributed to the development of professional nursing practice.

CoxHealth: Nursing Theory & Theorists-information about books, journals, and websites that provide in-depth reviews of nursing theories.

The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Pronunciation-

Who Named It- a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms (word related to medicine, whose name is derived from a person).

Medical Mnemonics- A free, non-profit, online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info