Skip to main content

Cincinnati: For Nursing Students

Nursing Simulation Videos

Montgomery College Nursing Simulation Scenario Library's following videos:

Assessment, Diabetes Education, Eating Disorders, End of Life, Medical Error, Post Partum Hemorrhage, Stress & Crisis, and Unwitnessed Falls.

Other Multimedia

LearnersTV- see videos, animations, and lectures on nursing procedures and skills, body systems, and more.

AACN Critical Care Webinar Series- monthly free webinars.

WEBtropolis: Procedures- view animated explainations of medical procedures such as angiograms, cesarean, and knee replacement.

WEBtropolis: Wellness- view animated explainations of wellness topics such as stress triggers, exercise, and pain management.

Merck Manual for Healthcare Professionals: Multimedia-audio, video, figures, and photographs of various disorders, diseases, algorithms and special subjects.

Mercks Manual for Patients & Caregivers- audio, video, figures, and photographs of various disorders, diseases, algorithms and special subjects.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL)- an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. Public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public  can use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.

Mountain West Digital Library- multimedia teaching resources for health sciences.

Journal Databases

Access these databases through LIRNusing the Fortis College access code. (Contact the LRC staff if you need the access code.)

Nursing & Allied Health Collectioncontains all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration. This collection is of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Health Reference Center Academic is a multi-source database that provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

ProQuest contains Health, Medical, Nursing, Allied Health, and Psychology Journals.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Centerprovides content on today's hottest social issues, supplemented with assessments and tools that encourage students to interact with, debate and analyze issues and concepts.

Print Journals

Advance for Nurses- (monthly publication) this free journal includes articles on timely clinical topics, latest professional news, job opportunities, care advice, new product information and helpful resource directory. Access past digital editions from their website.

American Journal of Nursing- (monthly publication) the oldest and most honored broad-based award-winning journal includes evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial issues and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community.  Access past digital editions from their website.

AORN Journal- (monthly publication) provides peri -operative registered nurses with high-quality, peer-reviewed articles featuring practice information, research study summaries, management and staff development guidance, and more. Limited access to past editions from website.

CIN: Computers Informatics Nursing- (bi-monthly publication) articles on the latest developments in electronic health records systems, decision-support systems, evidence-based healthcare in practice, point-of-care computing in practice and education, and conceptually integrated nursing languages and standard data sets. Limited access to past editions from website.

Evidence-Based Nursing- (quarterly publication) selects research studies and reviews from over 100 journals and around 50,000 articles per year that report important advances relevant to best nursing practice. Abstracts and open access articles available from website.

Geriatric Nursing- (bi-monthly publication) addresses current issues related to drugs, advance directives, staff development and management, legal issues, client and caregiver education, infection control, and other topics. Limited access to past editions from website.

MCN : the American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing- (bi-monthly publication) peer-reviewed journal that focuses on major issues in maternal/child nursing, women's health, and family nursing with extensive coverage of advanced practice healthcare issues relating to infants and young children. Limited access to past editions from website.

Minority Nurse Magazine- (quarterly publication) this free magazine provides information pertaining to education, career development, and minority health for the ever increasing number of minority nurses in America. This is NOT a peer-reviewed publication. Access to past editions from website.

Nursing Clinics of North America- (quarterly publication) provides the latest diagnostic and therapeutic information in the field of nursing. Each topic issue is guest edited by a distinguished expert in the field who invites other experts as contributors. Limited access to past editions from website.

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy- (bi-monthly publication) based on Lippincott Williams & Wilkins's popular and successful Incredibly Easy! book series for nurses. Articles are contributed by experienced clinicians, ensuring that content is based on sound clinical principles and hands-on expertise. Limited access to past editions from website.

Pediatric Nursing- (bi-monthly publication) evidence-based clinical information, research studies and advances in child health care.  Includes EBP content for the pediatric nurse at the bedside and in-depth analyses by leading experts in pediatric nursing. Limited access to past editions from website.

Copyright compliance notice

It is the intention of the Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries (CEAL) to comply with all U.S. and international copyright restrictions and to respect the intellectual property of all authors whose work is represented in these guides. If any individual or corporate entity has concerns about a specific item, please contact bslavinski@fortiscollege.edu

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info