Skip to main content

Orange Park: Nursing

ONLINE TRAINING ACTIVITIES

MICROSOFT SKILLS
        Sending and receiving email - 4 modules
         Attaching files to an email message - 4 modules
        Searching for information on the internet - 9 modules
         Managing files on a computer
         Creating and saving a document using Word
         Creating and saving a presentation using PowerPoint
         Copying and pasting text
         Using chat rooms online

STUDY GUIDES AND STRATEGIES
          Prioritizing responsibilities
          Managing time well
          Procrastination
          Making time for coursework
          Balancing tasks
          Self-disciplined

NCLEX Resources

Your best resource for passing your tests are your teachers!
But if you need more assistance, here are a few sites that might help.

 
National Council State Board Nursing
provides comprehensive information about the test, test preparation, test plans, and what to expect on test day.

 LearningExpressLibrary Create a free account. Do a search for NCLEX in test.

 Quizlet is a free online learning tool to create study flashcards.  Share cards with others and use on mobile devices. NCLEX questions

 Test Prep Review: NCLEX Review Ad filled page with brief explaination of the tests. Scroll to the bottom for free self-assessment modules for various subjects.  25 Practice questions

 Mighty Nurse Free skills assessment testing, along with testing tips, advice, inspiration and cartoons. Practice Questions 

 NCLEX-RN Review 3500  Use with internet explorer. Practice Questions

The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) has free testing resources available to all Tennessee residences. Click on the link and TEL will magically know (from your computer's IP address) that you are in Tennessee - if not, it will ask for your zip code and phone #, select Test Prep from the menu and choose Career tests for practice exams and review help. 

NURSING LIBRARY INSTRUCTION COURSE

Self paced nursing library course from Pennsylvania State University Library
Module 1: Getting Ready for Research
Module 2: Basic Research Skills
Module 3: Identifying a Scholarly Source
Module 4: Writing Tip
Module 5: Dissemination of Research
Module 6: Evidence-Based Nursing- Acquiring the Best Evidence

Nursing Web Resources

Anatomy / Physiology / Pathology

Mayo Clinic Symptom Checker-Foot pain? Headache? Sore throat? Skin rash? Use this guide to find out what's causing your symptom.

Healthline-Human Body Maps- an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. Users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works.

MEDtropolis: Home of the Virtual Body- An interactive guide to the body systems in English or Spanish. Find disease, condition, and injury fact sheets for more than 6500 conditions in the library. Watch video animations on medical procedures and wellness.

The Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals: Symptoms-

The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Symptoms-

Drugs / Dosages / Math / Calculators

A Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine - sites and resources compiled by the University of California.

Lab Tests Online- designed to help patients or caregivers to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. A peer-reviewed site produced by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

MDcalc- for medical professionals to help do calculations and process algorithms and scores.

The Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals: Clinical Calculator- calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, abbreviations and useful sites.

Fundamentals / Theory / Terminology

Nursing Theory-a list of major nursing theorists who have contributed to the development of professional nursing practice.

CoxHealth: Nursing Theory & Theorists-information about books, journals, and websites that provide in-depth reviews of nursing theories.

The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook: Pronunciation-

Who Named It- a biographical dictionary of medical eponyms (word related to medicine, whose name is derived from a person).

Medical Mnemonics- A free, non-profit, online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.

Government Resources

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)- also includes MMWR, Mortality and Morbidity Weekly Report, which provides health statistics, infectious disease information, and breaking news.

ClinicalTrials.gov- National Institute of Health site providing information on over 29,000 federal and privately sponsored clinical trials. Includes consumer information on the nature of clinical trials and answers to common questions about participation in clinical trials.

Drugs and Lactation Database

Genetics Home Reference

MedlinePlus

National Library of Medicine

NIH - Health Information

PubMed

National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities

National Center for Health Statistics

Have a Question? We are here to help!

You can also reach us by calling the LRC. For IM chat click on the AskUs button.

Please state your location/campus in the email.

R2 Library

R2 Library
40
ebooks covering the topics of medications,care plans, terminology, dentistry,pathophysiology.  Set up your own account with personal login and password.

Nursing Journals

The 212 titles on this list represent scholarly journals for the nursing profession.  Includes information on peer review and indexing in databases.  Prepared by the Nursing and Allied Health Resources section of the Medical Library Association.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info