Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staten Island: Recommended Databases

Welcome to the Learning Resource Center (LRC) at Saint Paul's School of Nursing, Staten Island

Search Databases

Access

If you are accessing any of the LIRN databases from off-campus, you will be prompted for the LIRN access code. Contact us at 718.517.7732

What is a Library Database?

  • Library databases contain information from published works.
    • Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedias, and journals 
  • Library databases are searchable.
    • By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.
  • Library databases provide citation information.
    • Author, if available
    • Title of Article
    • Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book)
    • Publisher
    • Date of Publication
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles.
    • You can print or email an entire article.
  • Library databases often contain peer-reviewed articles.
    • A sign of academic rigor - the article is "approved" by other experts in the field.
  • There are different kinds of library databases
    • For specific topics. Examples: Journal of Geriatric Nursing
    • For general topics Examples: ProQuest, Gale Virtual Reference 
  • Library databases are expensive resources available to you as a student/faculty/staff member. They are an essential part of completing college-level research assignments.

How is a library database different from a website?

Library databases Web sites
Library databases get their information from professionals in the field.   Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise.
Library databases contain published works where facts are checked.   Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert.
Library databases are easy to cite in & may create the citation for you.   Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation.
Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects.   Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs.
Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication.   Web sites may not indicate when a page is updated.

 

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info