Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Columbia: Open Access & Online Resources

PubMed

PubMed is not an Open Access database, but does index free articles from publishers. 

  • First type your query into the search bar up top, just as if you were using Google
  • When the results are displayed, check the box labeled Free Full Text on the left side of the screen
  • After clicking on an article's title, a section labeled Full Text Links will appear in the upper right with an icon
  • Click the icon in order to access the article
  • If multiple icons are present then just choose one and click it, the article will remain the same.

PubMed link: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed

Open Access Journals & Books

Here are links to a few credible open access journal sites. It is by no means complete!

Open Access Database Lists

Here you'll find links to lists of open access databases. This list is by no means comprehensive!

·         Howard University A-Z Open Access Databases

o   http://library.howard.edu/atozopenaccessdatabases

·         University of Wisconsin Milwaukee Open Access Databases

o   http://uwm.v1.libguides.com/content.php?pid=35074&sid=259532

·         Truman State University Open Access Publishing

o   http://library.truman.edu/search_articles/open-access.asp

         Oregon State University Databases Available To Everyone

o   http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/386-Databases-available-to-everyone-

·         University of New Hampshire Open Access

o   http://www.library.unh.edu/find/databases/access/open-access

Online Journals & Magazines

A short list of magazines and journals available online. 

Allied Health

Nursing

Trades

General Education

Book Reviews

Have a Question? We are here to help!

You can also reach us by calling the LRC. For IM chat click on the AskUs button.

Please state your location/campus in the email.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info