Access these databases through LIRN using the the Fortis College access code. (Contact the LRC staff if you need the access code.)
Health Reference Center Academic access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
Health & Wellness Resource Center access to trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
ProQuest databases include Health & Medical Complete, Nursing & Allied Health and Psychology Journals.
Advance for Nurses -(Monthly Publication) ADVANCE serves the informational and career needs of doctors, nurses and allied healthcare professionals through a wide range of products and services including magazines, e-newsletters and websites. This free publication includes articles on timely clinical topics, latest professional news, job opportunities, care advice, new product information and helpful resource directory.
CIN: Computers Informatics Nursing -(Bi-Monthly Publication) Articles on the latest developments in nursing informatics, research, and educational technology. CIN connects you with colleagues as they share knowledge on implementation of electronic health records systems, design decision-support systems, incorporate evidence-based healthcare in practice, explore point-of-care computing in practice and education, and conceptually integrate nursing languages and standard data sets. Continuing education contact hours are available in every issue. Indexed in ProQuest, CINAHL.
Minority Nursing -(Quarterly Publication) Printed journal offering a selection of articles online, plus educational and career resources, scholarship information, faculty job postings, industry news. This is NOT a per-reviewed publication.
NIH Medline Plus -(Quarterly Publication) The latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research featuring people from all walks of life talking about how they've handled their health challenges. Sometimes it's the famous, like Lance Armstrong, Randy Jackson or Mary Tyler Moore. Mostly, it's regular people who have turned to NIH for care and want to share their stories. Often, NIH scientists will write about their efforts to cure disease. Includes lively graphics, fun quizzes and practical tips with your daily health in mind. This free consumer guide is NOT peer-reviewed.
CMA Today- the AAMA's bimonthly flagship magazine designed to meet the informational needs of medical assistants. Includes news stories, special topics, public issues and CEU articles. Limited access to past editions from website.
Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)- an international peer-reviewed general medical journal. Subscribe to the journal or view news@JAMA blog from website.