Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staten Island: Psychology

Welcome to the Learning Resource Center (LRC) at Saint Paul's School of Nursing, Staten Island

Search Databases

Know Your Source Type!

Peer-Reviewed

Peer-Reviewed Journal has a structured reviewing system in which at least two reviewers, excluding in-house editors, evaluate each manuscript and advise the editor as to acceptance or rejection.

Primary Articles

In science-based disciplines, articles that report on original research studies are considered primary sources, and often referred to as empirical. Empirical studies are often published in peer-reviewed journals. These articles are usually divided into sections, including introduction, literature review, methods, data, results, discussion, conclusion / suggestions for further study, and references.


Review Articles

Articles that interpret or analyze original research studies are considered secondary sources, and often referred to as review articles. Examples include literature reviews, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses. Note that these articles may also be divided into sections. If there is a methods section, it will discuss how research articles (primary sources) were selected for review and analyzed.

Library Collection

Featured Databases

JSTOR - Psychology 

Articles from 31 Psychology journals. Create a personal account. 


ProQuest - Psychology

Over 500 titles available in full text. (Significant overlap with titles in PsychINFO). Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, and social psychology; along with personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.


Gale - Academic One File 

Peer-reviewed, full text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources including medicine and social science. Also coverage from The New York Times back to 1995. 

Digital reference collection containing over 400 full text encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, and specialized reference books. For general overview of diseases and disorders. 

 

Gale - Psychology Collection

This set of over 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals explores what makes people 'tick' from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info