Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Richmond: Hybrid Nursing Program

Fortis College's Richmond Learning Resource Center connects students with the resources and help they need, both on campus and at home.

SmarThinking

Fortis Online students have access to free tutoring services provided by SmarThinking. With SmarThinking you can:

  • Connect with a live tutor during on-demand hours of service for help with Writing, Anatomy & Physiology, Accounting, Algebra, Basic Math, Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, and more
  • Submit your written essays and papers for review
  • Submit questions for assistance

Fortis Online Students have access to SmarThinking directly from within the courses in Canvas. The link in the courses automatically passes along the necessary login information for you to use SmarThinking for the particular course. Look for “Tutoring” in the left margin of your courses under “Tools and Resources”.

Note – Do not try to access SmarThinking by going directly to smarthinking.com, use the course links instead within Canvas.

Journal Databases

Access these databases through LIRN using the Fortis College access code. (Contact the LRC staff if you need the access code.)

Nursing & Allied Health Collection contains all aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration. This collection is of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Health Reference Center Academic is a multi-source database that provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

ProQuest contains Health, Medical, Nursing, Allied Health, and Psychology Journals.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides content on today's hottest social issues, supplemented with assessments and tools that encourage students to interact with, debate and analyze issues and concepts.

CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for more than 580 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). Access CINAHL database through EBSCOhost using the Fortis College access code. (Contact the LRC staff if you need the access code.)

Helpful Nursing Websites

General & Research

LRC Homepage        http://libguides.yourlrc.info/richmond

LIRN Webpage (Access to databases)   www.lirn.net (87999 ID code)

EVOLVE      https://evolve.elsevier.com

PubMed     www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed

eMedicine       www.emedicine.com

MedLinePlus     www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

ProCon (Pros & Cons of Controversial Issues)    www.procon.org

HealthFinder    www.healthfinder.gov/

FedStats      http://fedstats.sites.usa.gov

Medscape Nurses   www.medscape.com/nurses

Nerdy Nurse (Blog)    http://thenerdynurse.com/

 

For Class & Review

Auscultation Assistant      www.med.ucla.edu/wilkes/intro.html

Medical Terminology         https://globalrph.com/medterm/a/ 

Lab Tests & Values           www.labtestsonline.org/

Drug Tables & Medical Calculation        www.globalrph.com/

Medical Mnemonics      www.medicalmnemonics.com

Anatomy      www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html

Dosages       www.dosagehelp.com

WebMD Videos      www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/videos/

Skeletal System      http://www.healthline.com/human-body-maps/skeletal-system

NIH Videos & Podcasts     www.videocast.nih.gov/

CDC Podcasts       www2c.cdc.gov/podcasts/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nursing Books in the LRC

Have a Question? We are here to help!

Please state your location/campus in the email.

ProQuest

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info