Please state your location/campus in the email.
Dental Anatomy by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Secrets of the CDA Exam Study Guide by
***Includes Practice Test Questions*** Secrets of the CDA Exam helps you ace the Certified Dental Assistant Examination, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Secrets of the CDA Exam study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. Secrets of the CDA Exam includes: The 5 Secret Keys to DANB Exam Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; A comprehensive General Reference review including: Cell Functions, Muscles Of Expression, Nasal Cavity, Tongue, Dental Anatomy, Jaws And Dental Arches, Dental Formula, Dental Notation, Universal Numbering System, Parts Of The Tooth, Dental Tissues, Points Of Reference, Dental Terminology, Location And Position, Teeth, Radiography, Landmarks, Maxillary, Mandibular, Procedures, Extraoral Radiography, Occlusion, Overjet And Overbite, Caries, Sealants, Dental Emergencies And Treatment, Dental Decay, Dentistry Related Pathological Conditions, Ludwig's Angina, Anug, Red Lesions, White Lesions, TMJ Review; A comprehensive Chairside Procedure review including: Set-Up Dental Unit, Instrument Preparation, Sterilizing Instruments, Positioning Chairs, Measurements, Fabrication, and much more...
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by
Applying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry. Over 900 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood, and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate 26 tooth views from multiple directions, while 27 3-D animations demonstrate dental structure and mandibular movement, helping you refine your skills in tooth identification and examination. 64 detachable flash cards show tooth traits and many illustrations from the book, making it easy to prepare for tests as well as for the NBDE and NBDHE. 32 labeling exercises on Evolve challenge you to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy with drag-and-drop labels. NEW Clinical Applications of Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion chapter includes practical applications and case studies, including instructions on root planing and scaling, extraction techniques and forces, relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form, and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs, all preparing you for the NBDE's new focus on clinical applications. NEW photos, illustrations, and research keep you up to date with the latest dental information. Three NEW animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate occlusal adjustments.
Battling and Beating the Demons of Dental Assisting by
Every dental assistant faces challenges every day in his or her job. After coaching dental assistants around the country for more than a decade, Kevin Henry has compiled some of the biggest challenges he has heard and witnessed, as well as some ways to conquer them, in Battling and Beating the Demons of Dental Assisting. Whether you're a dental assisting student, new assistant, or assistant who has been in the industry for years, this book can help you not only overcome your daily struggles but open your eyes to new career possibilities. If you are serious about your career-and enjoy a spot of humor along the way-then this book is for you.
Dental Public Health at a Glance by
Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams Comprehensive coverage of wide range of key concepts including: evidence-based dentistry, oral health promotion, the relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health, and considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level A must-have introductory textbook and revision guide for dentistry and dental hygiene and therapy students
Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy by
Featuring a full-color review of dental structures, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, 4th Edition, provides a complete look at the development, cellular makeup, and morphology of the teeth and associated structures. A clear, reader-friendly writing style makes it easy to understand both basic science and clinical applications, putting the material into the context of everyday dental practice. New to this edition are updates on caries risk, safe levels of fluoride use, and prevention of periodontal disease. Expert authors Margaret Fehrenbach and Tracy Popowics provide an essential background in oral biology for dental hygiene and dental assisting students, including excellent preparation for the board exams. Comprehensive coverage includes all the content needed for an introduction to the developmental, histological, and anatomical foundations of oral health. Hundreds of full-color anatomical illustrations and clinical and microscopic photographs accompany text descriptions of anatomy and biology. An approachable writing style covers the latest evidence-based information and makes it easy to grasp and learn to apply the material. A logical organization separates the book into four units for easier understanding: (1) an introduction to dental structures, (2) dental embryology, (3) dental histology, and (4) dental anatomy. Key terms open each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the text, and a glossary provides a quick and handy review and research tool. Clinical Considerations boxes relate abstract-seeming biological concepts to everyday clinical practice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter clearly identify the information you are expected to absorb. Summary tables and boxes provide quick, easy-to-read summaries of concepts and procedures and serve as useful review and study tools. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with practice quizzes, samplecase studies, review questions, and interactive exercises. A student workbook offers a wealth of interactive exercises, including labeling/structure identification to master anatomy, word-search and crossword puzzles for vocabulary practice, detailed guidelines for tooth drawing, and illustrated case studies with follow-up questions; in the back of the book, 32 removable flashcards provide practice on identifying permanent teeth and their features and characteristics. Sold separately. A bibliography lists resource citations for further research and study. Expert author Margaret Fehrenbach is one of the most trusted names in dental hygiene education, and writes extensively, lectures widely, and consults for many of the major dental manufacturers and supply companies. NEW! Updated coverage includes the newest evidence-based information on orofacial embryology, especially enamel formation; orofacial histology including fibroblasts, microplicae, keratin, collagen proteins, aging, repair, 3-D tissue engineering, mucoperiosteum, dental pulp stem cells, and platelet-rich plasma; root anatomy; and the latest guidelines on dental biofilm, fluoride use, smile design, periodontal procedures, endoscopy, saliva testing, enamel remineralization, periimplant disease, myofunctional therapy, and orthodontic therapy intervention. NEW color illustrations, photomicrographs, and diagrams add detail and help to build comprehension. NEW co-author Tracy Popowics, PhD, provides research and expertise related to advanced dental content.
