Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Richmond: MA/MOA

Fortis College's Richmond Learning Resource Center connects students with the resources and help they need, both on campus and at home.

Government Resources

US Department of Labor - summary and statistics of Medical Assistants from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)- website includes an A-Z index to hundreds of health and safety topics.

HealthCare.gov – This resource has proven tremendously beneficial to current medical assistants, covering every relevant healthcare-related topic. The site is maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human Services in an effort to maintain heightened awareness throughout the healthcare industry.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services – In addition to a number of valuable resources, the website lists numerous grants and apprenticeships for aspiring nurses and medical assistants.

Drug & Pharmaceutical Information


A word of caution! Some information on drugs and pharmaceuticals is produced by drugs companies. This information may be biased. The resources listed here are credible and objective.

Introductions, Overviews, & Definitions

Web Resources for Medical Assistants

Health Care Administration– The site covers a range of topics for medical professionals, assistants, and anyone interested in public health or the medical industry.

anatomyEXPERT 
(anatomyEXPERT) Thousands of 3D models, illustrations, and photographs of the human body. Complete description of anatomy structures and audio pronounciation tool. Simple to use, but with ability to zoom, pan, drag, and rotate viewing angle if the image is 3D.

Medi-Smart – Medi-Smart is a comprehensive resource covering a broad range of topics related to nursing. Medical assistants can access the site to learn about numerous topics related to nursing and healthcare in general.

MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
 
DailyMed
This website provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
 
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Database
Search for plant and chemical information.
 
Natural Standard: Foods, Herbs & Supplements
With your AML log-in, you can access the herbs and supplements database within the Natural Standard database.
 
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. Joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM).
 
http://labtestsonline.org/

Have a Question? We are here to help!

Please state your location/campus in the email.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info