Nursing: Nursing (PN)

The first book to teach physical assessment techniques based on evidence and clinical relevance. Grounded in an empirical approach to history-taking and physical assessment techniques, this text for healthcare clinicians and students focuses on patient well-being and health promotion. It is based on an analysis of current evidence, up-to-date guidelines, and best-practice recommendations. It underscores the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind physical assessment techniques. Evidence-Based Physical Examination offers the unique perspective of teaching both a holistic and a scientific approach to assessment. Chapters are consistently structured for ease of use and include anatomy and physiology, key history questions and considerations, physical examination, laboratory considerations, imaging considerations, evidence-based practice recommendations, and differential diagnoses related to normal and abnormal findings. Case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways aid retention, while abundant illustrations, photographic images, and videos demonstrate history-taking and assessment techniques.

Medical terminology can be a daunting course for students with a seemingly endless list of words to memorize. Medical Terminology: Active Learning Through Case Studies provides a unique approach and considers medical words in terms of common combining forms, prefixes, and suffixes to determine meaning in context. Students feel empowered when they realize they have the knowledge to dissect a long, complicated medical term into simpler parts to determine its meaning. The text is organized by body system with related terms describing anatomical features, pathologies, and procedures grouped together in story form for easy recall.

Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it.

Dosage calculation can be very challenging and intimidating for students, however, veteran author, Anna Curren breaks down this subject using the dimensional analysis method which reduces all calculations into a single, easy-to-solve equation. This takes the fear-factor out of manual math altogether. Many students have raved about how previous editions of this text helped them through their medical math course and succeed in clinical practice.

Clinical Nursing Skills at a Glance is the must-have study and revision guide for pre-registration nursing students and newly qualified practitioners alike, providing a visual summary of the essential aspects of clinical nursing skills and procedures. The core platforms of professional practice applicable to nursing adults in a variety of clinical settings are emphasised throughout the text, including care planning, assessment, management, prioritisation and co-ordination of care. Designed to allow rapid reference to critical information, the book is divided into 12 sections organised around systems of the body, with each chapter describing a specific clinical skill.

Put essential nursing skills and procedures at your fingertips! Based on Potter & Perry's bestselling textbook Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, this pocket guide provides quick access to 83 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques, and also suggest nursing interventions for potential complications. The book's portable size and spiral binding make it an ideal companion during clinical rotations. Reflecting the latest in evidence-based practice, this study tool and clinical reference helps you perform core nursing skills safely and effectively. Authoritative content is based on and matches Perry, Potter, Ostendorf & Laplante's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 10th Edition, making this book ideal as a quick, handy skills reference for information in the core text.

From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy contains everything health care practitioners need to review and students need to learn about calculating drug dosages. This entertaining and informative reference reviews the basic math needed to perform dosage calculation, including fractions, decimals, percentages, ratios, and proportions. It walks the nurse through the interpretation of hundreds of examples of drug orders and the performance of hundreds of complex dosage calculations, and provides information on deciphering difficult abbreviations, dealing with unclear handwriting, reading medication labels, selecting administration equipment, and more.

4 Stars from Doody's Review Service
This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

For more than 40 years ASHP has published the most trusted resource for injectable drug information. Our new ASHP® Injectable Drug Information now delivers the same high-quality content that you can expect from ASHP with even more of the information you need to make decisive patient care decisions. The 2023 edition of the industry's go-to guide is newly updated with the latest information, the full list of the AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© system, multiple new monographs, and nearly 200 new references for a total of over 24,000 total compatibility pairs. ASHP® Injectable Drug Information™ 2023 features more than 400 monographs, including: Brexanolone Cefiderocol sulfate tosylate Oritavancin Oliceridine fumarate Remdesivir Remimazolam besylate Sildenafil citrate

Providing key information at a glance, this timely resource for the home care nurse offers clear, current practice guidelines for safely delivering IV therapy within the home. Written by one of the foremost experts in the field, the guide delivers not only evidence-based information in an easy-to-access, bulleted format, but also extensive descriptions, discussions, and rationale for in-depth consultation.

AJN Book of the Year 2016 First-Place Winner in Gerontological Nursing!
The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care.

This quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia. The second edition-completely updated with the newest guidelines for evidence-based, person-centered care-includes two new chapters on the Emotional Needs of People with Dementia and Self-Neglect and Elder Abuse, along with new information on cultural considerations and distinguishing between dementia and delirium. Quotes from people with dementia are included in this edition to give first-person accounts of their experiences.

Stay ahead in the field of gerontological nutrition with the fully updated 4th edition of Nutrition Care of the Older Adult. Authored by leading experts, this comprehensive practice guide is thoughtfully crafted to provide both new and experienced health care professionals with the latest evidence-based practices and strategies for optimizing nutrition care in older adults.

Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.

A focus on intentional communication, team building, and relational maintenance This text is designed to help form and maintain palliative care teams that survive and thrive. Whether you are starting a new team or hoping to help an existing team, this text addresses aspects of team players, leadership, meetings, organizational culture, and self- and team-care through a combination of empirical data and real voices from healthcare professionals in palliative care practice. By focusing on the individual professional in relation to team health and success, this text shows how to develop high-quality, high-performing palliative care teams. Perfect for students and working professionals, this text is useful at any time in your career or your team's development. It explores the types of providers involved in palliative care, their roles, possible conflicts, and the opportunity to amplify their work as a team while overcoming the stigma that may be attached to palliative care. This book focuses on the foundational role of communication in leadership, team building, and the delivery of patient care. Designed to provide workable solutions to challenges such as poor team design, siloing, and faulty communication, it provides suggestions that can be implemented immediately by your palliative care team. This focus allows healthcare professionals who are passionate about palliative care to grow into high-functioning teams with a focus on excellent patient care.

Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street Model for Nurses has proven to be one of the most important public health texts for students and practitioners alike. Focused on developing evidence-based public health nursing practice in diverse settings and built on the framework of the Henry Street Consortium's 12 competencies for population-based, entry-level public health nursing, this full-color, new fourth edition is fully revised and updated to support readers' exploration of the field of public health nursing and the unique responsibilities and challenges that come with being a public health nurse. A new competency promoting, assessing, and coordinating population healthExplanation of population health relevance of each competencySARs-CoV-2 (COVID-19) pandemic examples/lessons learnedUpdated reference to UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in each chapterStrengthened content for diversity, equity, and inclusion

**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Diagnosis/Assessment**
Ackley and Ladwig's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 7th Edition provides quick access to more than 1300 specific client symptoms and a logical, step-by-step guide to care planning. A condensed version of Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, this guide is updated with the 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. Care plans are suggested for each diagnosis, including interventions, desired outcomes, and patient teaching.

Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition is an essential document for every nurse. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. The product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides: A revised and contemporary definition of nursing. An extensive discussion of respect, equity, inclusion, and social justice. The new ANA Professional Nursing Model and the revised Model Representing Regulation of Professional Nursing Practice. An expanded discussion of the application of ethics in nursing. A complete picture of the dynamic and complex practice of nursing and its membership and evolving boundaries. 18 national standards of practice and professional performance and their accompanying competencies. This premier professional resource informs and guides nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care.

The only nursing research and theory book with primary works by the original theorists! Noted nursing scholars explore the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. The 5th Edition, continues to meet the needs of today's students with an expanded focus on the middle range theories and practice models that link theory to clinical practice. You'll explore the role of these theories in the real-world to see how they guide nursing practice.

Now more than ever, ethical management in healthcare requires more than just a commitment to "doing the right thing." It requires the ability to analyze highly complex situations in a volatile environment, to address the myriad needs and concerns of patients and other stakeholders, to thoughtfully evaluate diverse courses of action, and ultimately to choose the right path when the moral "rules" are not always clear. The Tracks We Leave: Ethics and Management Dilemmas in Healthcare, now in its third edition, provides guidance for current and future healthcare managers as they confront the ethical challenges of their day-to-day work.