Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cuyahoga Falls: Info Literacy

Fortis College Cuyahoga Falls Learning Resource Center Main Webpage

"Information Literacy" Definition

An information literate person is able to  "recognize when information is needed and have the ability to locate, evaluate, and use effectively the needed information." 

- American Library Association Presidential Committee on Information Literacy
(Chicago: American Library Association, 1989.)


Ultimately, information literate people are those who have learned how to learn. They know how to learn because they know how knowledge is organized, how to find information, and how to use information in such a way that others can learn from them. They are people prepared for lifelong learning, because they can always find the information needed for any task or decision at hand.

- American Library Association Presidential Committee on Information Literacy 
(Washington, D.C.: American Library Association, 1989.)

Your LRC's Information Literacy Learning Opportunities

Learn to operate computers properly and efficiently!

Your LRC is here to help you use the technology accessible to you as effectively as possible. There are a variety of computer usage skills your LRC is able to teach including, but not limited to:

  • Data storage outside of your hard drive, such as USB drives; SD cards; Google Drive; and Dropbox
  • Email
  • Mac OS Office suite
  • Microsoft Office suite
  • Printing
  • Professional online identity development
  • Setting up a new computer
  • Social media
  • Troubleshooting

Should you run into any tech-related concerns during your academic program, feel free to visit your LRC staff. There is always someone willing to help you learn.

Learn how to type and access basic computer functions more efficiently!

Properly using the QWERTY keyboard & 10-key number panel. Keyboarding instruction can be ongoing or a one-time visit. Students will be provided information to utilize tutorials and be instructed in proper approach to keyboard. Focus on building muscle memory, speed and accuracy.

Objective: Achieve a score of 35 wpm or better in standard 1 min. typing exercises.

Learn more about research, analysis, and information literacy!

Become familiar with the Library & Information Resources Network (LIRN) databases that your LRC subscribes to. Students will be guided through the process of accessing and assessing resources using LIRN. Emphasis is put on the importance of obtaining relevant, recent information that is a credible source for academic work.

Helpful Handouts

Your LRC's Info Literacy Timeline

The LRC developed and implemented a new student LRC orientation for all academic programs. All new Fortis College Cuyahoga Falls students are given an orientation to the LRC. This orientation includes instruction on how to use our LRC website, catalog, and LIRN database. The LRC also created research guides on subjects such as: study skills, the literature search, boolean operators, APA format, and using the LIRN database.

(Legacy)

The LRC continued new student orientations, and added a faculty LRC orientation. During the faculty orientation, instructors are given a one-on-one, hands-on orientation to LRC resources. It consists of a tour of the LRC, and instruction on our LRC website, catalog and LIRN database. Instructors are also given a packet of useful handouts. As of Dec. 2010, approximately 70 instructors completed the LRC orientation.

(Legacy)

The LRC continued new student and faculty orientations. Orientations were revamped to incorporate program-specific language and topics. The LRC  collaborated with instructors to develop information literacy in the classroom. New workshop topics were created and worked into rotation. 

(Legacy)

The LRC created and plans to continually update a Community Resources area in the LRC for students.  The main objective for 2013-2014 is to focus on ACRL Information Literacy Standard Five, and ensuring that students know how to use the information they gather in an ethical and legal manner.

(Legacy)

Information access & hybrid program engagement with digital resources. Ebooks were subscribed to for enhancing the physical collection & providing 24/7 collections to online students. Web interface, database subscriptions & "E-Librarian" services added to LRC homepage. Expanded online guides & pathfinders for patron access & support.

Librarian instructed multiple sections of 'Health Informatics'; giving Nursing students direct access in the classroom to principles of information searching techniques, evaluation of sources, classification & database structures. Information Literacy guides went on display in the LRC & hallway outside-- APA paper writing, Research Methodology & LIRN database access basics.

Librarian and LRC Staff currently focus the development of the LRC's information literacy program on the importance of understanding information. With the great power of the internet comes the great responsibility of determining reliable information among a web of unreliable resources. LRC orientations in information literacy emphasize the importance of processing material over memorizing it, and chasing the questions that curious answers lead to.

Information Literacy in the Real World

Evaluating Sources

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info