Skip to main content

Orange Park: RESOURCES FOR FORTIS PROGRAMS

PILL IDENTIFICATION GUIDE

PILL IDENTIFIER You can search by imprint code, shape and color, or medication name. Enter the imprint code or medication name first. Add shape and color if needed.

Use our Pill Identifier to figure out

  • Was my prescription filled correctly? It looks different.
  • My pills are mixed up. Which pill should I take?

 

PROFESSIONALISM IN THE WORKPLACE

Business Etiquette - setting a professional tone with co-workers, clients, and customers

Dress Etiquette - what is appropriate work attire

Professionalism in the Workplace - covers relationships, employee issues, dress code

Tips

Book in LRC HF5381.6 A53 2011

Pronunciation Help

Get tongue tied pronouncing drug and disease names?  Here are some guides to help them glide off your tongue.  They do not include definitions.

Audio guides:

Drugs and diseases - Merck Manual                 
   MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary -  Search the medical dictionary and then click on the red speaker icon to hear the pronunciation.
                              Howjsay
                              How to Pronounce Top 250 Drugs - generic and brand names

Phonetic spelling and pronunciation guides:
list 1
list 2
 

 

 

HIPAA

Office for Civil Rights enforces Health Information Privacy

HIPAA for Professionals - HHS

HIPAA Basics for Providers: Privacy, Security, and Breach Notification Rules - DHHS - CMMS (2016)

HIPAA Compliance Guide - HIPAA Journal (2015)

Ultimate HIPAA Guide - overview without legal language

What is Hipaa?

HIPAA and other Privacy Training - University of Florida

AHCA Hipaa Compliance Office

Searching for Guidelines

Searching for Guidelines: Home

 
 

Searching for Guidelines

Searching for EBP Guidelines

This page contains resources helpful in searching for Evidenced Based Practice Guidelines.  The following three databases are linked to the Databases & Resources link under the Library Resources tab on the upper left side of the homepage of the Biomedical Library:

  • National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  The NGC displays summaries of guidelines but does not include the complete guideline.  Instead, NGC provides links to the full-text guideline or to information on how it can be obtained.  (The NGC does not produce guidelines, nor is there any requirement that guidelines be submitted to the NGC.   Instead, organizations that produce guidelines submit them to the NGC for inclusion, although the guidelines must satisfy the NGC’s inclusion criteria, one of which mandates that the full text guideline be available in English to the public upon request, either free or for a fee.)   To obtain the complete guideline, go to links either in the “Source” tab at the top of each summary or the “Guideline Availability” field near the end of the NGC guideline summary.  It is possible to search NGC by MESH or by codes. 

The following online journal imay be accessed via the Journals search box on the homepage of the Biomedical Library:

  • JAMA Network  - enter JAMA in the "Search the Journal" search box.  To search for  “guidelines,” click the down arrow under the “Learning” header and enter guidelines.

In addition, the 9th edition of Polit and Beck’s classic text Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice lists useful websites to find guidelines.  

While the following sources are not linked to our homepage, most are free and may be accessed via the URL provided.  (For any access issues, try to find the guideline in PubMed or contact the Biomedical Library or try to request the guideline via the Biomedical Library's Interlibrary Loan department.

Also, see professional societies and organizations, including the following non-exclusive list.

  • AWHONN (Association of Women’s  Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses)
  • Toxnet ("Toxicology Data Network," produced by the National Library of Medicine.  Enter the word  “guidelines” in the main search box and then click “more results” to get a complete listing of guidelines at this website.)
  • Equator Network (Enhancing the Quality and Transparency of Health Research)‚Äč
    • This site does not include guidelines, but it does provide reporting guidelines for clinical practice guidelines, among other study types.

Finally, search comprehensive databases (eg., PubMed, CINAHL) using terms such as practice guidelineclinical practice guidelinebest practice guidelineevidence-based guidelinestandards, or consensus statement.  Also, check databases for relevant limiters: for instance, PubMed has a limiter for “guideline” under the Article Type section in the left-hand sidebar of the search results page.

 

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info