Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Port St. Lucie: Mobile Apps

Fortis Institute 9022 South US 1 Port St Lucie FL34952

Mobile App Searching

This list of mobile apps is bound to be quickly out of date. New apps are added everyday for Android and iPhones. Be sure to search using keywords like "anatomy," "nursing," or "nclex."

Free Anatomy & Physiology Apps

Essential Skeleton 4 - 3D anatomy atlas - rotate skeleton, view individual bones, listen to pronunciation, annotate and share images, and take quizzes. Excellent level of detail. Available for iOSAndroidMac, & Windows.  

Visual Anatomy - contains all body anatomy systems; has more than 500 images with labels and descriptions and quizzes. Available for iOS & Android.

3D4 Medical Images and Animations - over 400 high-resolution images and 40 videos; full description for each image, search capacity. Available for iOS.

Cell Atlas - extensive cell image database accompanied by mini lectures.  Also includes quiz and a game to test user's knowledge. Available for iOS & Android.

Physiology Animations - the free version contains 11 animations with videos that illustrate the core physiological processes of the body. Available for iOS.

Free Drugs and Supplements Apps

Epocrates Rx includes drug interactions, pill identifier with pictures, & drug prescribing and safety information. Available for iOS & Android.

About Herbs, from Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center's Integrative Service, this app. contains over 200 monographs describing the use, adverse effects and interactions of various botanicals, herbs, supplements, and more. Available for iOS and other mobile devices.

Medicinal Plants & Herbs provides information on over 100 medicinally useful plants and herbs and which part of each plant is used for which disorder. Available for Android.

LactMed comes from the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET database.  It provides information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers could be exposed and the levels of these substances in breastmilk and infant blood and possible adverse effects of these substances on nursing infants.  Suggested therapeutic alternatives are listed where available. Available for Android.

Drugs.com Medication Guide contains a drug A-Z list; drug identifier through imprint, shape, or color; interactions checker; side effects and dosage information; and allergy and medical condition interactions. Available for iOS and Android.

PocketPharmacist gives summarized drug information on over 1550 medications available in the U.S. Also features Med Check for determining drug interactions, side effects and precautions and Med Box for organizing and setting reminders for medications. Available foriOS.

Free Radiology Apps

Radiology Toolbox Lite - designed by a practicing radiologist for students, techs., and radiologists alike, this app. includes tools like radiographic contrast premedication, GFR calculator, gastric emptying times, and radioisotopes half lives. Available only for iOS.

Brain MRI Atlas - interactive study and reference tool with hundreds of labeled brain structures.  Structures are organized and color-coded by category. Available only for iOS

RadiologyEBooks.com is a free digital library of free radiology eBooks and free radiology apps for iOS and Android.

Radiology Quiz - over 12,000 multiple-choice questions testing knowledge of relationships from medical imaging ontology. Available only for Android.

Radiology Tutor includes calculators adrenal washout, and lung, renal, colorectal, pancreatic, endometrial, ovarian, and cervical cancer TNM staging. Available for iOS

Free Clinical Apps

Medscape - leading evidence-based medical reference resource. Contains information on conditions, procedures, drugs and drug interactions. Available foriOSAndroid, and Kindle Fire.

Skyscape - has a clinical consult feature with over 850 topics, as well as a drug guide, calculators, and MedBeats featuring breaking clinical news and drug alerts. Available for iOSAndroid, and Kindle Fire.

Electronic Preventive Services Selector from the U. S. Dept. of Human Services helps clinicians better assess screening, counseling, medication, and treatments appropriate for their patients.  Gives best quality recommendations based on the information entered. Available for iOSAndroidBlackberry, and Palm.

MedPage Today provides breaking medical news, comprehensive reference material for over 30 specialties, and opportunities for free CME/CE credits. Available for iOS, and Android.

Medical Dictionary with Health Calculator provides descriptions of common diseases with images. Also has blood pressure calculator, blood sugar calulator, body mass indicator calculator, and cholesterol calculator. Available for iOS.

Diseases Dictionary provides detailed description for all major diseases and disorders with causes, symptoms, treatments, medications and drug interactions and side effects. Available for Android.

Sensitivity & Specificity gives the sencitivity and specificity of hundreds of medical tests with literature citations included. Available for iOS and Android.

Free Study Aids

Eponyms provides short descriptions of over 1700 medical eponyms, such as Rovsig's sign or Virchow's node. Organized into 28 categories, the list is searchable and customizable. Available for iOSAndroid, and WebOS.

Med Mnemonics Lite has free access to anatomy, cardiology, internal medicine and pharmacology categories.  Memory aid, acronyms, and interesting medical facts designed to help the student remember medical terminology. Available free for Android.

gFlash+ Flashcards & Tests - create, download, and manipulate flashcards to aid in study; GoogleDocs integration; multiple study methods, including games; ability to share sets; convenient screen controls for sorting & screen layout.  Available in iOS and Android.

Anatomy Embryology Q & A Review - based on Lippincott's Illustrated Q & A Review of Anatomy and Embryology, this app provides a comprehensive review of major concepts in anatomy and embryology.  High quality photos and line drawings; free download is 25 questions with detailed explanations. Available for iOS and Android.

Microbiology and Immunology - this app provides clinical vignettes with questions to test the user's ability to integrate basic and clinical science to solve problems. Comprehensive review of major concepts in microbiology and immunology; free download is 25 questions with detailed explanations. Available for iOS and Android.

Rubin's Pathology Q&A Review - clinical vignettes with questions and detailed explanations for general and systemic pathology. Full-color images link clinical and pathological findings. Free download provides 30 questions. Available for iOS and Android.

Pathology LANGE Flash Cards is organized into 13 major topics reviewing key pathologic concepts. Each category's clinical vignettes covers a specific disease or disorder.  Can create customized quizzes or play the matching game. Available for iOS and Android.

Biochemistry Lippincott's Illustrated Q&A Review is written in clinical vignette-style and provides a comprehensive review of major concepts in biochemistry. Illustrated with photos and pathway diagrams, the free version has 25 questions with detailed explanations across 21 key subject areas. Available for iOS and Android.

Free Histology and Pathology Apps

Histology SecondLook, from the University of Michigan, is a study aid to review histological structures. The free version contains one slide deck, but other decks can be purchased within the app. Available for iOS.

Basic Histology Flash Cards is organized into 22 categories. Each card has an image with arrows indicating a question(s) to review histological concepts. "Flipping" the card gives the answer and the clinical significance of the image. The free version contains 10 cards, and the in-app purchase provides 200 more. Available for Android.

Tissue Flashcards: Histology has over 120 tissue slide images for review in a quiz mode. Available for Android.

Organ Flashcards: Histology contains over 180 slides organized by body system. Available for Android.

Slidepath Gateway has high resolution whole slide images with expert pathologist diagnosis. Available for iOS.

Pathology LANGE Flash Cards is organized into 13 major topics with descriptions of pathological concepts. Each flash card features a clinical scenario including etiology, epidemiology, and pathological findings. Free version contains 10 cards, but in-app purchase increases the total to almost 300 cards. Available for Android.

 

Have a Question? We are here to help!

Please state your location/campus in the email.

Consortium of Education Affiliates Libraries http://libguides.yourlrc.info