LibGuides: Queens: Electronic Resources

New York Times
Read todays articles and full text available from1980 to present
U.S. Major Dailies
US Major Dailies provides access to timely coverage of local, national, and world events: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
USA Today
Full text coverage Feb 17, 1997 - present
Citation/Abstract coverage Jan 2, 1989 - present
CBS 60 Minutes
CBS News 60 MINUTES offers access to transcripts and nearly 500 hours of video from 1997–2014

Library Databases

LIRN
LIRN is a suite of online resources subscribed to by the Library & Resource Centers.
Our new Single Sign On feature lets you access all of LIRN's 800+ nursing journals, hundreds of general education and allied health journals, online 3-D anatomy software, video collections, and more with your Office credentials.
Click on the LIRN logo above, choose your school (SPSON) and use your school email to login. If you are already logged into your office account, you will be automatically logged into LIRN.
How to use LIRNSearch
Using Pre-Research to Understand Your Topic
Make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic.
• Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.
Credo Reference
ACADEMIC ALTERNATIVE TO WIKIPEDIA USE CREDO TO FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION OR OVERVIEW OF A TOPIC

You can also access LIRN through Canvas

Log into Canvas
Click on your class
Click on Modules (on left)
Click on Important content to read before the first day of class
Click on "LIRN: Online Library Resources"
Click on Load LIRN: Online Library Resources

Allied Health Films on Demand
Films on Demand by Infobase
Health & Medicine
Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine
Mathematics Videos from Infobase
From business to the sciences to the trades, most students’ professions will inevitably involve mathematics. This collection aims to serve math’s cross-disciplinary nature, both with straightforward video lessons on branches from statistics to calculus, algebra and geometry, as well as programming about applied math in accounting, psychology, construction, and more. Documentaries on advanced theories and the history and global impact of math round out the collection for more serious students.
Nursing Video Collection
Nursing Video CollectionThis collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. It features titles from trusted producers such as Cengage Learning/Concept Media, NEVCO, Wolters Kluwer Health, Institute for Professional Care Education/Medifecta, and others.

THE DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

JStor
Free access to a large portion of the JSTOR archive with a registered, free personal account. Content from journals, ebooks, research reports, images, media, and special collections from 1870 to three years from the present
NovelNY
Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELny is an online virtual library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information via libraries and library systems statewide
James Lind Library
The Library contains material illustrating the development of fair tests of treatments throughout history.
Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Sigma Repository
The Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses around the world. It is an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma).

Top Journals

JAMA : the journal of the American Medical Association.
1883-1925 1926-2010 Limited Search
Online Journal of Issues in Nursing: (OJIN)
OJIN is a free, peer-reviewed, international journal addressing topics affecting nursing practice, research, education, and the wider health care sector. Both Medline and CINAHL index the journal.
The New England Journal of Medicine
Published by the Massachusetts Medical Society, the NEJM is a prestigious and historical weekly medical journal. Certain articles relating to public health are free to view upon publishing with all original articles made publicly available after 6 months.
American Nurse
American Nurse Journal, a career-focused journal of the American Nurses Association (ANA), is a fresh voice of nursing across America. The printed journal reaches more than 200,000 dedicated nurses in a multitude of specialties and practice settings, and the site serves over two million visitors each year. American Nurse Journal is a peer-reviewed journal indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL). Archives 2006- Present
Royal College of Nursing Publishing
RCNi publishes ten nursing journals with information for nurses and healthcare professionals on the latest developments affecting nursing and healthcare, including changes in policy, practice and research. We publish evidence-based peer-reviewed clinical articles and CPD articles, in addition to daily news, analysis, features, careers, opinion, and NS Student. Nursing Standard
Cancer Nursing Practice
Emergency Nurse
Evidence Based Nursing
Learning Disability Practice
Mental Health Practice
Nursing Children & Young People
Nursing Management
Nursing Older People
Primary Health Care
Nurse Researcher

World Health Organization

Access to documents and publications from WHO the World Health Organization IRIS Home (who.int)

How to search the new IRIS Interface Help (who.int)