LibGuides: Queens: Social Sciences Courses

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Psychology Journals
made available through LIRN
Research Library: Social Sciences
This resource covers publications on social science information for researchers of all levels.
Social Science Database
indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
The Asian American Experience
The first resource of its kind, The Asian American Experience examines American history through a critical lens, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans.

Journal of World-Systems Research
The Journal of World-Systems Research, an open access, online-only journal of the ASA Section on Political Economy of the World-System, publishes research on topics that are relevant to the analysis of world-systems.
Monitor on Psychology
Archive 2001 to Present
News and Advocacy
from the American Psychological Association
Science & Society
Science & Society is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal of Marxist scholarship. It publishes original studies in political economy and the economic analysis of contemporary societies; social and political theory; philosophy and methodology of the natural and social sciences; history, labor, ethnic and women's studies; aesthetics, literature and the arts.
Science Spotlight
source for the news and information for psychological scientists, by psychological scientists.
Socius: Sociological Research for a Dynamic World
Socius: Sociological Research for a Dynamic World provides an open access online-only forum for rapid publication of sociological research from any subfield of the discipline.
What is Sociology?
definition by by UNC
The Center for the History of Medicine and Public Health,

Ebooks
On Social Science
More E-books
on Social Science
Ebooks
on Psychology
Psychology E-books
from Psychology .org

History of Madness by Michel Foucault
ISBN: 9780415277013

Publication Date: 2006-08-18

History of Madness begins in the Middle Ages with vivid descriptions of the exclusion and confinement of lepers. Shifting brilliantly from Descartes and early Enlightenment thought to the founding of the Hôpital Général in Paris and the work of early psychiatrists Philippe Pinel and Samuel Tuke, Foucault focuses throughout, not only on scientific and medical analyses of madness, but also on the philosophical and cultural values attached to the mad.
Origin of Species by Charles Darwin
ISBN: 9781901843491

a groundbreaking scientific work by British naturalist Charles Darwin, is published in England on November 24, 1859. Darwin’s theory argued that organisms gradually evolve through a process he called “natural selection.” In natural selection, organisms with genetic variations that suit their environment tend to propagate more descendants than organisms of the same species that lack the variation, thus influencing the overall genetic makeup of the species.
DSM-5 Essentials by Lourie W. Reichenberg
ISBN: 9781118846131

Publication Date: 2013-11-13

Everything you need to know about the DSM-5(tm) in an organized and concise presentation Providing you with a quick and easy way to get up-to-speed on recent changes to the two main classification systems--DSM-5 Essentials highlights these changes in a logical and systematic manner so that you can easily make the transition from DSM-IV to DSM-5.
From Silence to Voice by Bernice Buresh; Suzanne Gordon
ISBN: 9780801467370

Publication Date: 2013-05-15

For more than a decade, From Silence to Voice has been providing nurses with communication tools they can use to win the resources and respect they deserve. Now, in a timely third edition, authors Bernice Buresh and Suzanne Gordon focus on how nurses can describe and frame their work to seize unprecedented opportunities to advance their profession and lead improvements in health care systems.
DSM-5 Overview of DSM-4 Changes by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423222699

Publication Date: 2014-05-31

Easily accessible overview of highly relevant changes from the fourth edition to the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Health Disorders (DSM) handbook used by health care professionals as a guide to diagnosing mental disorders. Changes and disorders are summarized for quick reference for use by students and/or professionals in the field.
Shirley Jackson's American Gothic by Darryl Hattenhauer
ISBN: 9780791456071

Publication Date: 2003-01-16

Best known for her short story "The Lottery" and her novel The Haunting of Hill House, Shirley Jackson produced a body of work that is more varied and complex than critics have realized. In fact, as Darryl Hattenhauer argues here, Jackson was one of the few writers to anticipate the transition from modernism to postmodernism, and therefore ranks among the most significant writers of her time.
Shirley Jackson by Joan W. Hall (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805708530

Publication Date: 1993-02-12

This is the only series to provide in-depth critical introductions to major modern and contemporary short story writers worldwide. Each volume offers: A comprehensive overview of the artists short fiction-including detailed analyses of every significant story Interviews, essays, memoirs and other biographical materials -- often previously unpublished A representative selection of critical responses A comprehensive primary bibliography, a selected bibliography of important criticism, a chronology of the artists life and works and an index
Shirley Jackson Collected Short Stories by Shirley Jackson; Robert Court (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0970903332

Publication Date: 2001-08-01

Each book presents a collection of the author's best short stories, a biography, and insightful notes about the stories.
Psychology: A Journey by Dennis Coon; John O. Mitterer
ISBN: 9781133957829

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Using the proven SQ4R (Survey, Question, Read, Recite, Reflect, and Review) active learning system to help you study smarter, Coon leads you to an understanding of major concepts as well as how psychology relates to the challenges of everyday life. Each chapter of this book takes you into a different realm of psychology, such as personality, abnormal behavior, memory, consciousness, and human development. Each realm is complex and fascinating, with many pathways, landmarks, and detours to discover.
Erving Goffman by Tom Burns
ISBN: 9780415064927

Publication Date: 1991-11-07

Decades after his death, the figure of Erving Goffman (1922-82) continues to fascinate. Perhaps the best-known sociologist of the second half of the twentieth century, Goffman was an unquestionably significant thinker whose reputation extended well beyond his parent discipline. A host of concepts irrevocably linked to Goffman's name - such as 'presentation of self', 'total institutions', 'stigma', 'impression management' and 'passing' - are now staples in a wide range of academic discourses and are slipping into common usage. Goffman's writings uncover a previously unnoticed pattern in the minutiae of everyday interaction. Readers are often shocked when they recognize themselves in his shrewd analyses of errors and common predicaments.nbsp; This superb study, written by one of the most respected sociologists at work today, is an indispensible guide to the sociology of Erving Goffman.nbsp;This book offers a compact guide to Goffman's key ideas and the debates they have engendered, and incorporates understandings generated by recent Goffman scholarship.
The Psychology Book by DK
ISBN: 9780756689704

Publication Date: 2012-01-16

Learn about human nature, behavior and how the mind works with The Psychology Book. Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format. Learn about Psychology in this overview guide to the subject, great for beginners looking to learn and experts wishing to refresh their knowledge alike! The Psychology Book brings a fresh and vibrant take on the topic through eye-catching graphics and diagrams to immerse yourself in. This captivating book will broaden your understanding of Psychology, with: - More than 100 ground-breaking ideas in this field of science - Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with striking illustrations and graphics throughout - Easy to follow text makes topics accessible for people at any level of understanding The Psychology Book is the perfect introduction to the science, aimed at adults with an interest in the subject and students wanting to gain more of an overview. Here you'll discover key concepts by psychologists who have significantly enhanced our understanding of the human mind and behavior. Learn about everyone who's contributed to the big ideas in psychology, incorporating the ideas of today's scientists as well those of the ancient philosophers and pioneers.
The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life by Erving Goffman
ISBN: 9780385094023

Publication Date: 1959-05-20

Based upon detailed research and observation of social customs in many regions, here is a notable contribution to our understanding of ourselves, using theatrical performance as a framework. This book explores the realm of human behavior in social situations and the way that we appear to others. Each person in everyday social intercourse presents himself and his activity to others, attempts to guide and control the impressions they form of him, and employs certain techniques in order to sustain his performance, just as an actor presents a character to an audience.
Asylums by Erving Goffman
ISBN: 9780385000161

Publication Date: 1961-10-18

Asylums is an analysis of life in "total institutions" -- closed worlds such as prisons, army training camps, naval vessels, boarding schools, monastaries, nursing homes and mental hospitals -- where the inmates are regimented, surrounded by other inmates, and unable to leave the premises. It describes what these institutions make of the inmate, and what he or she can make of life inside them. It is the thesis of this book that the most important factor in forming a mental-hospital patient is the institution, not the illness, and that the patient's reactions and adjustments are those of inmates in other types of institutions as well.
Stigma by Erving Goffman
ISBN: 9780671622442

Publication Date: 1986-06-15

Stigma is an illuminating excursion into the situation of persons who are unable to conform to standards that society calls normal. Disqualified from full social acceptance, they are stigmatized individuals. Physically deformed people, ex-mental patients, drug addicts, prostitutes, or those ostracized for other reasons must constantly strive to adjust to their precarious social identities. Their image of themselves must daily confront and be affronted by the image which others reflect back to them. Drawing extensively on autobiographies and case studies, sociologist Erving Goffman analyzes the stigmatized person's feelings about himself and his relationship to "normals"
The Scholar Denied by Aldon Morris
ISBN: 9780520286764

Publication Date: 2017-01-17

The Scholar Denied is based on extensive, rigorous primary source research; the book is the result of a decade of research, writing, and revision. In exposing the economic and political factors that marginalized the contributions of Du Bois and enabled Park and his colleagues to be recognized as the "fathers" of the discipline, Morris delivers a wholly new narrative of American intellectual and social history that places one of America's key intellectuals, W. E. B. Du Bois, at its center.
Gender Advertisements by Erving Goffman
ISBN: 9780060906337

Publication Date: 1979-04-01

Probes the ways in which advertising portrays male-female roles and relationships, probing discrepancies between natural social behavior and images perpetuated in advertisements and commercials
50 Psychology Classics by Tom Butler-Bowdon
ISBN: 9781857883862

Publication Date: 2006-11-16

In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self. 50 Psychology Classics explores writings from some iconic figures such as Freud, Adler, Jung, skinner, James, Piaget and Pavolv, but also highlights the work of contemporary thinkers such as Gardner, Gilbert, Goleman and Seligman.

E-book Collection on Comics, Superheros and Supervillians
The Fall of Freddy the Leaf
The Fall of Freddie the Leaf by Leo Buscaglia

APA PscNet
PsycNET searches American Psychological Association resources such as PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES, on a single platform. It contains numerous full-text peer-reviewed articles in psychology and related disciplines.
Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Crash Course
Videos on sociology and psychology topics
Cultural Awareness for Medical Assistants
This three-part series provides medical assistants with an understanding of the challenges of providing care to a culturally diverse patient population and describes strategies to address these needs.
Research Methods in the Social Sciences
Using psychology as its primary medium, this four-part series thoroughly explores qualitative and quantitative research methods used in a wide range of disciplines. Hosted and narrated by students, each program demonstrates the ins and outs of testing hypotheses, preparing experiments, and analyzing data—while improving knowledge of terms and concepts essential to examination boards. Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. 4-part series, 23–46 minutes each.
This Emotional Life
From neurons to neighborhoods, this three-part series explores the science and psychology of human emotion. Professor Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness, talks with experts about improving social relationships, learning to cope with depression and anxiety, and how to become more positive and resilient. Each episode weaves together the compelling personal stories of ordinary people with scientific research, along with revealing comments from celebrities such as Katie Couric, Chevy Chase, Larry David, Robert Kennedy Jr., and Richard Gere. Distributed by PBS Distribution. 3-part series, 115 minutes each.