Queens: English Courses

Best-selling guide and essential reference for 20 years, designed to support the composition and style in writing essays and papers. The answers you need for the elements of good writing in forming ideas for the right audience with unity and coherence are here in just six laminated pages. Succinct and to the point, the focus and design of this guide gives you the facts you need so you can review quickly and spend more time on the task of writing. Great writing is a gateway to better grades in any subject as well as a huge influence on career advancement. With more answers per page than any book or website, and at this price, this proven tool that has helped so many for so long is a must have. 6 page laminated guide includes: Purpose or Reason for Writing Defining the Audience Establishing Clarity Organizing for Unity Integrating Ideas for Coherence Composing an Essay: Analyze the Prompt/Assignment/Writing Task & Choose a Focus Create a Working Thesis or Claim Construct an Outline Writing a Draft Peer or Instructor Reading & Conference Revising the Draft Edit the Final Draft Review an Example of a Model Essay

Here you will find the finest essays "judiciously selected from countless publications , ranging from The New Yorker and Harper's to Swink and Pinch.

Joyce Carol Oates has collected a group of works that are both intimate and important, essays that move from personal experience to larger significance without severing the connection between speaker and audience.

This book' features twenty outstanding examples of the best of the best in American short stories.

Great American Short Stories: From Hawthorne to Hemingway

Heart of Darkness and Selected Short Fiction, by Joseph Conrad, includes new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras.

Short story authors in this collection include Tobias Wolff, Helen Simpson, and Susan Perabo.

This book is really four interlocking volumes sharing one cover. Each of the first three sections is devoted to one of the major literary forms - fiction, poetry, and drama.

A selection of American literature drawn from throughout history. Includes a time line, color plates, and bibliographies

The Norton Anthology of English literature provides students with access to a widely trusted and comprehensive collection of works penned by English (British) authors

The Norton Anthology features 73 works--by 69 authors, offering a broad collection of short stories with annotations .With a new "Authors in Depth" feature, an extensive Reviews and Commentaries section, and expanded coverage of Writers on Writing,

The anthology is a compact library of world literature, offering complete works, prose works, lyric poems, and plays.

The complete, authoritative collection of Ernest Hemingway's short fiction, including classic stories like "The Snows of Kilimanjaro," "A Clean, Well-Lighted Place," and "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber," along with seven previously unpublished stories.

In The Short Stories of F. Scott Fitzgerald, Matthew J. Bruccoli,assembles a sparkling collection that encompasses the full scope of Fitzgerald's short fiction. The forty-three masterpieces range from early stories that capture the fashion of the times to later ones written after the author's fabled crack-up, which are sober reflections on his own youthful excesses.

A collection of fifty-two essays and sketches by Mark Twain

Writing Basics for the Healthcare Professional  is based on the writing needs of students in allied health fields. A wide variety of students will benefit from the "can do" approach of this worktext. The answers for most of the exercises are at the end of the text. Proofreading and revision exercises help develop critical thinking skills in writing and a keen eye for written work.

Writing for the Health Professions teaches the principles of writing, writing for academic purposes and writing to help healthcare professionals in practice. Designed for those with a firm grasp of basic grammar, it leads the reader through the fundamentals of writing papers, documentation and writing research grants. This book can be used in a writing class for health care students, a reference for the student to use during their academic years or as reference for the practicing professional.

Long's poems are riveting and bring up questions regarding humanity. The collection itself is divided into four distinct sections that each deal with their own humanitarian concern: returning home and the nostalgia that finds you; the downfall and heartbreak of humanity; hard, unspoken questions about society; and the wake of heartbreak left behind by the suicide of a close friend.

The publication of Amiri Baraka's SOMEBODY BLEW UP AMERICA AND OTHER POEMS makes one more mark in the development in modern Black radical & revolutionary cultural reconstruction

Spoon River Anthology probes the social background of the small-town world that Edgar Lee Masters loved and hated--and finally transmuted into powerful literary art.

This selection brings together over 500 of Dickinson's nearly 1,800 poems.

Adapted from the Persian , these poems testify to the courage and the despair, the misery and the hopes of thousands of Iranians struggling to survive conditions of extreme oppression.

In this moving volume of poetry, we hear the multi-faceted voice of one of the most powerful and vibrant writers of our time.

Editors Michael S. Harper and Anthony Walton present the definitive collection of black verse in the United States--200 years of vision, struggle, power, beauty, and triumph from 52 outstanding poets.

Featuring the entirety of Oscar Wilde's collected poetry, prose, and dramatic works, this collection demonstrates the author's wide range, unerring wit, and unique perspective. Bringing together Wilde's most famous works, including The Picture of Dorian Gray, The Importance of Being Earnest, and Lady Windermere's Fan, t

Approximately 60 poems from the great American poet, including many previously unpublished. Includes landmark poems such as The Pasture, After Apple-Picking and The Wood Pile.

The definitive volume of the complete poetic works of Frost.

Robert Frost's Poems is a celebration of the New England countryside, Frost's appreciation of common folk, and his wonderful understanding of the human condition.

Sandra Martz's anthology series on ageing features the best-loved excerpts of poetry, prose and photographs .

I Am Becoming the Woman I've Wanted, delves into the sometimes hidden and always powerful feelings that women have about their bodies, this book explores coming of age, sexuality, child-birth, physical power, menopause, aging, and much more.

This companion volume to When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple, illuminates the experiences of women, young and old, reflecting on the choices they have made.

A collection of poemsTracy K. Smith, the Poet Laureate of the United States

This Collection encompasses Yeats career, from luminous reworkings of ancient Irish myths & legends to passionate meditations on the demands and rewards of youth & old age, from exquisite, occasionally whimsical songs of love, nature,& art to somber & angry poems of life in a nation torn by war & uprising.

Shakespeare's greatest achievement in nondramatic verse was his collection of 154 magnificent sonnets that portray a tumultuous world of love, rivalry, and conflict among a poet, an aristocratic young man, a rival poet, and a mysterious "dark lady."

This selection includes all Wordsworth's finest lyrics, and a large sample of The Prelude (1805), his extraordinary autobiographical poem in blank verse and the first truly great achievement of a new era in English poetry.