Queens: RN Courses

The Clinical Care Classification (CCC) System, a national nursing standard, is a respected resource for documenting patient and nursing care plans for the electronic health record (EHR). It provides a set of standardized, coded patient care terminologies for EHR input in nursing diagnoses and outcomes, as well as in nursing interventions in both acute and ambulatory settings.

The Clinical Care Classification (CCC) System described in this manual is the only standard coded nursing terminology that is based on sound research using the nursing process model framework and that meets the Patient Medical Record Information (PMRI) comparability requirement.

""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--

A classic nursing reference, offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care. Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment.

This text provides essential, practical information about clinical research from a very hands-on perspective in the proven format of the highly popular question-and-answer format of the Nursing Secrets Series®. Major sections include the basics of research, getting started, planning the study, conducting the study, evaluating the results, and communicating the findings.

This book places comfort at the forefront of nursing care, by presenting a carefully researched theory of comfort that nurses can use as a framework for practice. Engagingly written, the book combines a first-person account of the development of the theory with supporting research, and practical information for its application. Kolcaba analyzes the concept of comfort; describes its physical, psychospiritual, environmental and sociocultural components; evaluates its meaning in the many different contexts in which health care occurs; and describes how it can be measured. The appendix includes comfort care questionnaires that can be used with patients in many settings, and a comfort scale that can be used with patients for a quick assessment of comfort. Clinicians, researchers, educators, and students will find this holistic approach helpful in setting priorities and parameters for patient care.

By combining stories of care, the reflections of caregiving practitioners, and interpretations of caregiving within a larger social and theoretical framework, this collection identifies the values and skills involved in quality caregiving at the individual level and affirms their importance for reshaping our public caregiving institutions. Contributors from the fields of medicine, nursing, teaching, ministry, sociology, psychotherapy, theology, and philosophy articulate their values, hopes, commitments, and practices both in theoretical essays and in narratives of caregiving that reveal the complexities of skillful practice.

Nursing practice is a complex and varied field that requires precision, dedication, care, and expertise. Clinicians must have both the skills and the tools to attend to changes in patients' responses, recognize trends, and understand the nature of their patients' conditions over time. This book clearly delineates the skills needed to become an expert nurse.

This book includes an in-depth history about each version and the preparation and publishing of Nightingale's works. What is very interesting is the editor's commentary on the bibliographical and social history behind the various versions. He discusses little known facts about the book, such as the one published for the educated professional is the second version, whereas the other versions, though more widely published and more widely known, were written mainly for the masses. The editor's research clearly describes Nightingale's legacy and the effect it has had on contemporary nursing as well as nursing's future.

tilizing Nightingale's personal history, writings, and philosophy, authors Dossey, Selanders look to revitalize the nursing profession in light of the current international crisis in health care.

Giving Voice to What We Know links Margaret Newman's Theory of Health as Expanding Consciousness (HEC) with nursing knowledge development, clinical practice, education and curriculum development, research, and nursing administration. At a time when nurses are increasingly asked to justify their contribution to clinical practice outcomes, Giving Voice to What We Know serves as a guide for nurses to do so by articulating their contributions to both immediate and long-term changes in healthcare. Written by nurse educators who teach research and practice within the theoretical framework of HEC, the text provides clear examples of theory-based practice models, as well as a variety of practical examples for using the model to create a partnership with patients--the essence of nursing.

For the author of this book, disease is not an "enemy" that strikes a "victim." Rather, health and disease comprise a unitary whole of individual and environment. Health as Expanding Consciousness is an inspiration to those seeking a full experience of personal health.

Human Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.

A study of the process of organic evolution and its result: the structural, functional, and genetic diversity of organisms. Emphasis on recent advances in understanding phylogenetic relationships among the primary groups of organisms, major events in the history of life, and the fundamental concepts and methods of evolutionary biology. A study of organic evolution and its theoretical basis. This course develops three major themes: the history of evolutionary thought, the mechanisms of evolution, amd highlights in the history of life. Offered in alternate years. Study of the processes of evolution from macromolecules to the genesis of major groups of life. Examination of Neo-Darwinian theories of adaptation and natural selection as well as competing scientific explanations of evolutionary change. Assessment of contemporary criticism of Darwinian theory. Three class hours per week in seminar format with emphasis on reading of primary literature and discussion.

Patricia Benner's philosophical introduction to phenomenology develops the reader's understanding of the strategies and processes involved in this approach to human science. Contributors to the volume discuss the constitutive relationships between theory and practice, consider the possibility of a science of caring from a feminist perspective, introduce interpretive phenomenology for studying natural groups such as families, and suggest a ground for developing nursing ethics that is true to the caring and healing practices of nurses. Following a thorough and engaging exposition of the field's theoretical and philosophical foundations, the work shifts focus to interpretive studies currently being undertaken within the scholarly community; the research tradition is then applied and reexamined as it relates to specific lines of inquiry. Interpretive Phenomenology presents an inclusive and well-integrated discussion of the many correlative topics within this subject area. Its relevance and accessibility will make this book an invaluable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as professional researchers in nursing and other health sciences.

An Introduction to the Theoretical Basis of Nursing marked the advent of a new era in nursing science. With a view of nursing as a "learned profession," this landmark work staked out a substantive knowledge base for the discipline. The science of unitary human beings proposed by Rogers was a radical departure from all that had come before and is seen by many as pioneering the beginning of a paradigmatic shift within the profession.

Modeling and Role-Modeling is a holistic nursing theory that helps healthcare providers step into the world of their clients, understand them as people with mind-body-spirit interactions, and plan care to facilitate their well-being. Based on Milton Ericksons concepts of Modeling and Role-modeling.

This collected scholarship...will inform the personal/professional evolution of caring and nursing into this century and beyond, inviting new visions of the evolved human in the world of practice, education, research, administration, and clinical care. It is truly a visionary futuristic manifesto for this time in nursing and health sciences at all levels.

This is an excellent addition to the nursing theory literature and one that focuses on the needs of the new DNP role and knowledge development. As the preface states, it encourages the development of 'theory for practice in practice, ' and could help to close the divide that exists between theorists/researchers/academics and practice.Score: 97, 5 stars--Doody's The current paradigm of nursing knowledge suggests theory is developed outside of practice, then handed down to the practitioner to practice. This unique text is for students and faculty at the DNP level to engage in developing nursing theory in order to directly guide and improve practice. The content in this book provides strategies for scholarly practice as well as theories for students to develop or modify to fit into their own practice. This book guides students in learning to think in a new way about nursing theory development as it relates to nursing practice.

Perspectives on Nursing Theory is a comprehensive anthology of important articles addressing diverse theoretical and philosophical perspectives on the nature of theory and knowledge development in nursing. This informative and contemporary resource features some of the most widely read and cited articles that facilitates thought and discussion among nurses, researchers, students, and teachers. Features 52 of the most widely read and frequently cited articles reflecting seminal, modern, and futuristic perspectives on nursing theory Includes new articles reflecting current, cutting-edge views of nursing theory and trends Includes biographical information about each author that provides insight into the author's perspective

Series present concise critical introductions to great writers and their works. Devoted to critical interpretation and discussion of an authors work, each study takes account of major literary trends and important scholarly contributions and provides new critical insights with an original point of view. The book suggests to the informed reader new ways of considering a writers work. A reader new to the work under examination will, after reading the Authors Series, be compelled to turn to the originals, bringing to the reading a basic knowledge and fresh critical perspectives. Each volume features: A critical, interpretive study and explication of the authors works A brief biography of the author An accessible chronology outlining the life, work, and relevant historical background of the author Aids for further study -- complete notes and references, a selected annotated bibliography, and an index A readable style presented in a manageable length

In the updated fourth edition of this award-winning title, more than 1, 230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

The research, practice, and philosophy of today′s nursing are predicated on an understanding and appreciation of its origins. Making a significant contribution to the advancement of nursing science, this compelling volume defines its history, assesses its present status, and envisions its future applications and development. Based on renowned theorist Imogene King′s powerful doctrine, the work begins with a philosophical overview by the theorist herself. Next, prominent international contributors describe specific implementations of King′s theory, illustrating its impact on their practices and clearly demonstrating its connection to research and practice. Finally, the progression of knowledge in the field is evaluated, culminating in suggestions for further exploration and refinement. This incisive text will be an indispensable resource for professionals, students, and all those concerned with the progress of nursing science.

This book explores the use of the Roper, Logan and Tierney Model of Nursing in practice. It underpins nursing care for patients with a variety of health care problems. The main focus is on nursing adult patients in acute and community-based settings. Applying the RLT Model in Practice has been written to enable students and their teachers in both Higher Education and clinical practice to explore the different dimensions of the model through a variety of case studies and exercises .The case studies can be viewed as 'triggers' for student problem-solving skills in using the Model. Many of the exercises are aimed at enabling readers to find evidence to support nursing activities.

This outstanding resource looks in-depth at major existing nursing models. Contributors outline blueprints from these models that are applicable to real situations in practice. An essential tool for introducing the range of nursing models to students, or for their implementation in practice.

This volume provides an easily understood presentation of Roy′s Adaptation Model of nursing theory which views the person as a biopsychosocial being in constant interaction with the changing environment. Roy believes nursing is needed when unusual stressors or weakened coping mechanisms make the person′s usual attempts to cope ineffective. The goal of nursing is thus to promote the adaptation of the patient, leading to a higher level of wellness. Roy′s model has been a guiding influence on numerous critical care research studies.

The Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code) was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession.

Unique source of transcultural nursing theory Explicates the theory with its philosophical base, tenets, assumptions, purpose, and goal Presents the ethnonursing qualitative research method Seven research studies demonstrate use of the theory

The latest edition of Madeleine Leininger's book, Culture Care Diversity & Universality: A Worldwide Nursing Theory, Second Edition remains the primary and most comprehensive source on the Culture Care Theory with the Sunrise Enabler and the Ethnonursing Research Method. Nurses and other health professionals will continue to find Culture Care Diversity & Universality the most reliable guide for providing culturally congruent, competent, and safe care in a growing multicultural world.

Evans summarizs Imogene King′s theory. She begins with the origin of the theory, underlying assumptions, the major concepts of the meta-paradigm of nursing, the propositions of the conceptual model, and examples for application to practice and research. The emphasis on client participation and mutual goal setting provides an interactive framework for nurses. King′s theory serves as a guide for nursing education, research, and practice .Designed to provide a concise description of the conceptual frameworks and theories in nursing which have emerged in the last quarter century. Though short and succinct, they provide a useful overall view for those studying or actively involved in nursing as well as for those interested in the profession and its development

Health Promotion in Nurisng Practice presents a strong, up-to-date foundation for understanding and building the science and practice of health promotion. The book has three goals: to introduce the major individual and community models and theories that guide health promotion interventions; to offer evidence-based strategies for effective health promotion in practice settings; and to foster critical thinking about future opportunities for research and more effective interventions. This Sixth Edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and terminology. New coverage includes: the U.S. Government's Healthy People 2020 Goals; more ecological approaches encompassing families, communities, and nations; new health promotion technologies, and more.

Cheryl Forchuk provides an easily understood overview of Peplau′s Interpersonal Nursing Theory which identifies the therapeutic nurse-client relationship as the crux of nursing. The author shows how this theory enables nursing to move away from a ′doing to′ to a ′doing with′ relationship with patients and develop as a profession that promotes health in the individual. The book begins with a brief biography of Peplau, and continues with a succinct discussion of the theory.

Evans does a wonderful job of succinctly summarizing Imogene King′s theory. She begins with the origin of the theory, underlying assumptions, the major concepts of the meta-paradigm of nursing, the propositions of the conceptual model, and examples for application to practice and research. The emphasis on client participation and mutual goal setting provides an interactive framework for nurses. King′s theory serves as a guide for nursing education, research, and practice, making this booklet essential for undergraduate students and professionals in the field of nursing and allied health.

Leininger′s theory defines care as the essence and dominant domain of nursing, and is unique in suggesting that patient need and the resulting intervention should be determined by culture and lifestyle. This book presents a brief biography of the theorist as well as an extensive overview of the theory, including examples of its practical applications.

Completely updated in a new edition, this book presents a look at the application of the Neuman Systems Model in nursing education and practice, with emphasis on social change, current trends, and future nursing needs. It includes specific guidelines for providing holistic systems based perspective for optimal client system care. Through the contributions of an international contingent of authors, the text offers diverse viewpoints of global health care concerns relevant to the 21st century. MARKET: For clinicians, researchers, and administrators in all health care disciplines.

Caring is an essential value in the personal and professional lives of nurses. This book is a response to the call for a theory of nursing as caring. The Nursing as Caring theory is about a unique way of living, caring in the world. This theory provides a view that can be lived in all nursing situations and can be practiced alone or in combination with other theories. Please note there is a ten copy minimum order for this title.

-- The sixth edition of the "classic" text on the concepts of nursing practice. -- Several new chapters are included, however the basic format and information has not changed. -- The information continues to be presented in an easily understandable format with chapter outlines, key items, chapter summaries and boxed exercises.

This book provides the definitive account of the Roper-Logan-Tierney model of nursing, including in-depth discussion of its conceptual development, its place within the wider body of nursing theory and a critique of its application in practice. The book will conclude with a wider discussion of the place of this model for nursing in the face of ongoing challenges in both nursing and health care throughout the world. Authoritative and complete account of the most influential nursing model in the UK and one of the most influential in the world. Thorough exploration of aspects of theory which go beyond textbook explorations to date Authorsown assessment of the models use in practice and its place in future nursing development a unique set of insights.

Roy Adaptation Model, one of the most widely implemented nursing theories. Compact and consistent, this book focuses on the essentials of nursing practice and theory while integrating the conceptual framework of the Model into contemporary practice. Standardized nursing NANDA diagnoses are used consistently throughout the book. New case studies are included in all adaptive mode chapters. MARKET: Practicing Nurses interested in a definitive guide to the Roy Adaptation Model.

This definitive text demonstrates the connection between theoretical nursing and nursing practice, and shows how research is related to both. From Nightingale to the present, the author traces the work of major theorists through a description and analysis of the theory along with a critique and test of the theory. Coverage also includes: the processes and strategies used to develop theory; the most accepted criteria used to analyze and critique theory; and discussion on the use of theory to enhance the nursing profession. Four new chapters provide students with the most current information on the development of concepts and theory and metatheory: A Nursing Perspective, Patterns of Knowing: The Syntax of the Discipline, Strategies for Concept Development, and On Practical Wisdom. Bibliographies and reference lists have been expanded to include writings through early 1996, and incorporate contemporary philosophical discussions and interpretive approaches to knowledge development.

Includes bibliographical references.
"Pub. no. 15-1708."
Papers presented at a workshop held in Kansas City, Oct. 17-18, 1977.

This text explains the fundamental concepts of nursing, as developed throughout the years and looks at where nursing may be going in the future.

The most comprehensive guide to transcultural nursing in global settings, covering pain management, mental health therapies, child-rearing practices, certification, and much more. Features comparisons of western and non-western cultures, and information on multiple cultures of urban USA.  

How does nursing knowledge develop and how do we incorporate this knowledge into the practice of nursing? Is it possible for nursing theory to address the needs of clinical practice? These key questions in the field of nursing are explored in this groundbreaking work. Based on their five-year experience as co-chairs of the New England Knowledge Conferences and the contributions of nurse clinicians and academics, the book addresses issues critical to improving the quality and delivery of health care. Concentrating on four major themes--the current state of nursing knowledge, the philosophy of nursing knowledge, the integration of nursing knowledge with practice, and examples of the impact on health care delivery when nursing knowledge is applied--Nursing Knowledge Development and Clinical Practice gives concrete examples of how nursing knowledge can improve nursing practice and overall health care delivery both today and in the future.

Clinical Nursing Calculation employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. continuum of care to bring readers a truly informative and dynamic resource. Clinical Nursing Calculations has been organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration.The Joint Commission and the Institute for Safe Medication Practice guidelines regarding safe medication administration are also featured. To facilitate learning, students will find examples in both electronic medication administration record (eMAR) and electronic health record format. This text can be used as a primary text for a dosage calculations course or as a supplemental text within a nursing program or pharmacology course.Three methods of dosage calculation are presented side-by-side in table format for every dosage calculationUpdated chapter referencesUpdated content for dosing and safe injection practices per CDC Guidelines and The Joint CommissionNew information on heparin dosage protocol to reflect clinical environment practices New drug titration examples and questions NCLEX®-style review questions are includedBasic math concepts are highlighted in equations throughout the text for visual learners

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left) Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition . This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text.

Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it.  

Prepare for success on your CNOR certification exam and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training to assist in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care.

This book provides all the essential research tools for assessing and measuring caring for those in the caring professions. Watson's text is the only comprehensive and accessible collection of instruments for care measurement in clinical and educational nursing research. The measurements address quality of care, patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring, and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy. Newly updated, this edition also contains three new chapters, which document the most effective caring language and provide innovative methods of selecting appropriate tools for measurement based on validity and reliability. Key features of new edition: A chapter providing a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring A chapter entitled "Caring Factor Survey," which presents a new scale based on Watson's original theory of human caring Chapters outlining instruments for care measurement, including Holistic Caring Inventory, Peer Group Caring Interaction Scale, and many more New instruments focused on assessing caring at the administrative-relational caring level An updated section dedicated to challenges and future directions of the measurement of caring

Used extensively in nursing education, Betty Neuman's systems model reflects nursing's interest in holism and in the influence of environment on health. This volume opens with a brief biography of Betty Neuman and continues with a succinct discussion of her theory that outlines its origins, assumptions, and the major concepts of the meta-paradigm of nursing. It continues with a presentation of the propositions of the conceptual model, examples for application to practice and research, classic works, critiques and research, and a glossary of important terms. Ideally suited as a supplementary text, Betty Neuman is essential reading for the undergraduate nursing student as well as the more advanced student or nurse interested in a quick review.

A classic research-based text in nursing practice and education, this newly revised second edition explains, through first-hand accounts of the hard-earned experiential wisdom of expert nurses, the clinical reasoning skills necessary for top-tier nursing in acute and critical settings. It provides not only the most current knowledge and practice innovations, but also reflects the authors' vast experience using the first edition in practice and educational settings. This updated edition includes new interviews from acute care, critical care, perioperative nurses, and more. Attention is paid to current IOM and nursing guidelines for systems approaches to patient safety, with education and leadership implications described throughout. It is an essential resource for undergraduate and graduate nursing educators, students, administrators, and managers seeking to improve systems of care and leadership in clinical practice.

This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify issues in situations where "right" and "wrong" may not be clearly defined. This approach is based on the interaction of health professional and patient, focusing on the well-being and right to self-direction of both. Numerous case studies give the professional practice in bioethical decision making.

The essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! In addition to updating drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, this new 36th edition includes over a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA.

A full-color guide to the entire field of clinical endocrinology and its scientific underpinnings - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Greenspan's Basic & Clinical Endocrinology delivers a succinct, leading-edge overview of the underlying molecular biology of the endocrine system and the latest perspectives on the diagnosis and treatment of specific diseases and disorders. Featuring an enhanced design that includes hundreds of full-color illustrations and clinical photographs,

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible.

From setting up an oxygen delivery system in a hospital room to administering stat meds, this handy, pocket-sized resource helps you to deliver high-quality care. You'll have on-the-spot guidance you need to care for patients with complex medical-surgical conditions--from focused assessments, immediate interventions to follow-up care for patients who develop complications--all presented from the nurse's point of view. The 4th Edition has been completely revised, updated, and expanded to deliver all of the current information you need with an expanded focus on the safety, quality, and outcomes data that are integral to delivering the very best patient care.

Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know addresses an essential component of the basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks are related to end-of-life care. Despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country, very few nursing education programs provide adequate education on this topic for future nurses. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country and explore the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. There is an emphasis throughout the book on the simple, yet understated value of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician. The text provides a basic foundation for understanding death and dying, including a brief historical examination of some main conceptual models associated with how patients cope with impending loss. An overview of illness trajectories and models of care, such as hospice and palliative care, are discussed. Lastly, the latest evidence based approaches for pain and symptom management, ethical concerns, cultural considerations, care at the time of death, and bereavement are examined. The goal of this text is to foster the necessary skills for nurses to provide compassionate care to individuals who are nearing the end of life and families who are experiencing the loss of a loved one. Every chapter contains a "What You Should Know" section which highlights and reinforces the main message nurses should know when caring for their patient.

The all-in-one care planning resource! Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. You'll find about 160 care plans in all, covering acute,community, and home-care settings across the life span. Each plan features... Client assessment database for each medical condition Complete listings of nursing diagnoses organized by priority Diagnostic studies with explanations of the reason for the test and what the results mean Actions and interventions with comprehensive rationales NANDA, NIC, and NOC's most recent guidelines and terminology

This powerhouse of a reference book provides more than 150,000 properly spelled surgical terms to keep readers up to date with new procedures, new instrumentation, and new materials. Find spellings for operative positions, techniques, procedures, instruments, equipment, materials, incisions, sutures, key surgical phrases, as well as acronyms and abbreviations in this compact text. With over 275 important categories such as anesthetics, positions, sutures, procedures, prostheses, and abraders fully cross-referenced and sublisted, the 3rd edition is not only comprehensive, it's easier to use than ever. Content organized by a by medical transcriptionist recognized as an expert in the field Entries are listed in alphabetical order for quick access and easy use Cross-indexing points to alternative spellings and uses 45,000 new words All material is up-to-date with current surgical practice, including new procedures, new instrumentation, and new materials.

Taking the NCLEX-RN is a turning point in any nursing student's education, so it is no wonder that many nursing students stress about studying for the exam. Let BarCharts help you prepare with our NCLEX-RN Study Guide, an essential tool for exam preparation. Following the same "fluff-free" format as our best-selling Nursing guide, the NCLEX-RN Study Guide can help you reach your goal of becoming a registered nurse.

Essential tool used by nurses and nursing students for 25 years. This 6 page laminated quick reference guide covers the need to know whether you are studying, prepping for tests or already a working nurse. Just the facts and answers arranged and organized to have as much info possible at your fingertips in color coded sections to find what you need and to promote memorization. We have heard first-hand how our nursing guides have boosted grades, helped with passing tests like TEAs and NCLEX, reduced some stress of academic intake and how this guide has even been stolen by other nurses from the nursing station (true story). Authored and updated by two accomplished nurses, teachers and writers Jill E. Winland-Brown, EdD, MSM, ARNP and Julie Henry, RN, MPA, you will not find a more inexpensive reference that offers so much support. 6 page laminated guide includes: Components of the Nursing Process Basic Head-to-Toe Assessment Assessing Lung Sounds (with diagram) Adventitious Lung Sounds & Potential Causes Assessment Techniques  Percussion Sounds & Potential Causes  System Assessment Glasgow Coma Scale Heart Normal Electrocardiogram (EKG) Pattern Grading of Heart Murmurs Edema Rating Scale Pulses Skin & Muscles Quick Guide to Skin Assessment Muscle Strength Decubitus Ulcer Staging Medication Administration Medication Dosage Calculation Injection Sites (with images) Insulin Types & Action Times IV Solutions & Calculations Laboratory Values Comprehensive Metabolic Panel Coagulation Studies Complete Blood Count (CBC) & Differential  Common Abbreviations

reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question.

Celiac Disease is an immune reaction to eating gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. This guidebook provides essential information on Celiac Disease, but also serves as a historical survey, by providing information on the controversies surrounding its causes, and first-person narratives by people coping with Celiac Disease.

Controlling High Blood Pressure through Nutrition, Nutritional Supplements, Lifestyle, and Drugs helps prevent and treat high blood pressure and hypertension, the most common primary diagnosis in the United States and a leading cause of heart attack, heart failure, kidney failure, and stroke. Written by two leading experts in nutrition and hypertension, it takes an integrative and evidence-based approach based on scientific research and clinical studies. It explains what causes high blood pressure and includes easy-to-follow solutions for patients that help to treat and prevent it. These include: The ideal drugs to reduce blood pressure with fewest side effects and optimal efficacy A nutrition program to reduce weight and lower the risk of a cardiovascular problem A comprehensive review of nutritional supplements to improve blood pressure control and reduce cardiovascular disease A review of lifestyle changes to improve blood pressure.

Provides authoritative advice about how good dietary habits can promote health and reduce risk for major chronic diseases. Gives action steps to reach achievable goals in weight control, stronger muscle and bones, and balanced nutrition to help prevent chronic diseases such as heart disease, diabetes and some cancers.

The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Second Edition is the authoritative A-to-Z guide to all aspects of nutrition and maintaining a healthy diet. Thoroughly updated, it examines the latest advances in the field, including revised government guidelines and requirements - like the new folate enrichment laws - and new research - for example, the discovery of a link between colon cancer and preserved meats but not fresh meats. Concise and extensively cross-referenced, It is the perfect one-stop guide to the often-confusing mass of nutritional information available today. More than 2,500 entries provide the essential information readers will want to know about nutrition and good health. Covering food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; the link between certain foods and cancer; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more, this edition is comprised of approximately 30 percent of new material, including several new appendixes.

The Essential Pocket Guide for Clinical Nutrition, Third Edition is a quick-reference guide for dietitians, students, and other health professionals actively engaged in clinical nutrition, providing them with immediate access to evidence-based information on nutritional assessment, nutrition support, and nutrition considerations for specific diseases such as cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and pulmonary disease. Using the latest nutritional guidelines, the authors utilize a consistent chapter format that includes sections on disease process, treatment and nutritional intervention, and patient education, making it easy to find the relevant information. New sections consider the nutrition implications of dementia, Alzheimer's, and Parkinson's; nutritional care for bone marrow transplant patients; food safety in intestinal transplant operations; and more.

Written and reviewed by an interdisciplinary team of registered dietitian nutritionists, physicians, nurses, and pharmacists, this resource provides guidance to health professionals caring for pregnant patients with diabetes, including gestational, type 1, and type 2 diabetes mellitus.

Nutrition Research: Concepts and Applications, Second Edition assists students in developing the skills necessary to become knowledgeable consumers of research, conduct and document research projects, and using research findings in the classroom and in supervised practice. The Second Edition makes research articles approachable and understandable so students can feel confident reading and interpreting not just primary research, but also narrative and systematic reviews. In turn, this text also helps students understand and access practice guidelines to enable their participation in evidence-based nutrition and dietetics practice.Nutrition Research, Second Edition provides numerous examples of concepts, ample practice opportunities using questions tied to actual studies, and occasions for step-by-step mastery of concepts. This valuable text starts with the basics and is comprehensive in its approach, making it ideal for undergraduate students as well as graduate students.

NUTRITION THERAPY AND PATHOPHYSIOLOGY, 3E provides a comprehensive review of disease pathophysiology and treatment with a focus on current research into and application of evidence-based nutritional care for students, clinicians, and researchers. It strives to prepare students for success in clinical practice and foster growth in expertise in their field.

Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals merges the basic principles and latest evidence-based scientific understanding of sports nutrition with the real-world practical applications that health professional students must master to help their current and future clients to optimize athletic performance, overall satisfaction and success with sports and physical activity. Step-by-by, you'll learn about the scientific basis of sports nutrition and how to apply that knowledge to real-life situations and interactions with clients. You'll follow six different clients as they are evaluated by a variety of health professionals and undergo a series of assessments and self-administered tests. By seeing how the science of Sports Nutrition can be applied to sample clients, you will be able to take that knowledge and apply it to your future clients. Explore MORE online! The access code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks a wealth of instructor and student resources online. You'll also have access to physiology animations, online questions, interactive case studies, and audio podcasts.

Sugar Blues is a book by William Dufty that was released in 1975 and has become a dietary classic

The American Academy of Pediatrics celebrates its 90th year in 2020. This collection of articles reprinted from AAP News recaps the Academy's accomplishments by decade and illustrates the organization's remarkably consistent goal of ensuring better health for all children. Highlights include Academy programs to prevent injury, promote immunization, provide professional and public education, create standards for child health, and advocate for legislation that benefits children at the national and local level.

Numeracy in Children's Nursing and Healthcare is a handy, practical book which highlights the importance of numbers, numeracy and calculations in children's nursing practice, instilling nursing students and qualified nurses with confidence and competence when working with numbers and calculating drug doses. This accessible guide covers all aspects of numeracy from basic skills through to complex drug administration, and provides case studies throughout enabling the reader to apply the theory to practice. Each chapter adopts the same accessible and easy-to-follow format, featuring learning outcomes, a case scenario, key numeracy information, hints and tips, activities and exercises, and a glossary of terms.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
This fully illustrated, enjoyable guide offers easy-to-remember ways to strengthen your understanding and retention of common pediatric conditions at every level of child development. An irreplaceable on-the-job reference for all new nurses, this go-to resource supports class materials, is the ideal study partner for NCLEX®, HESI or CPN exam preparation, and is an excellent refresher for experienced nurses.

Pediatrics made manageable. Assure your mastery of pediatric nursing knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 900 NCLEX®-style questions on pediatrics and growth and development provide the practice you need to build your confidence. Rationales for both correct and incorrect answers as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types.

The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.

Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance, is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration children's nursing students from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Divided into seven sections it explores assessment and screening, working with families, the newborn infant, the developing child, child health policy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic and life-limiting conditions. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in an accessible and un-intimidating waion nursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130 illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendations for practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactive multiple choice questions

BarCharts' newest addition to its line of health guides includes the Pills & Medications QuickStudy guide, designed for quick reference for the most common conditions affecting adults and the drugs most often used to treat them. As always, this guide uses BarCharts' trusted, easy-to-access fold-out format that, when used in conjunction with your doctor's advice, helps you keep your medication knowledge fresh and better monitor your own health conditions.

Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities.

Few have approached the fundamental questions of nursing in such an insightful, systematic, and clearsighted way as Dorothea Orem. This book is a collection of many of the presentations and writings that are not included in her previous books. It presents a fascinating view of the development of Orem's theory of self care deficit over a forty-year period, along with its ramifications for nursing education and practice.

Originally published in 1952 by a towering figure in nursing history, this book stresses the then novel theory of interpersonal relations as it was relevant to the work of nurses. Her framework suggested that interaction phenomena that occur during patient-nurse relationships have qualitative impact on patient outcomes. While the past four decades have seen a substantial expansion in the use and understanding of interpersonal theory, such as cognitive development and general systems theory, this classic book remains a useful foundation for all nurses as so much subsequent work used this work as its starting point. Springer Publishing Company is delighted to make this book available again.

The second edition provides a comprehensive overview of the practice of psychiatric and mental health nursing, supported by relevant theory, research, policy and philosophy. The text is based on the concept of "the craft of caring" which considers the basis of good nursing practice to be a combination of both art and science, and requires nurses to take a holistic approach to the practice of psychiatric and mental health nursing. Chapters have been completely updated to reflect recent developments in nursing practice and the understanding of mental health disorders. This new edition also includes a more international focus with overviews of practice and policy developments around the world. Fourteen new chapters have been added, giving more emphasis to certain groups such as children and adolescents, women, older people, asylum seekers and refugees. Additional coverage of specialists services, such as psychiatric liaison and spiritual care has been included, and further emphasis is given to psychiatric diagnosis and mental health legislation in relation to human rights. This is an essential text for all psychiatric and mental health nurses at diploma and degree level, as well as qualified mental health nurses seeking to update their knowledge, and also as a reference for other disciplines such as social work, medicine and psychology.

Looking for an easier path to care planning? Create a map! Concept mapping is a clear, visual, and systematic model for gathering and categorizing relevant assessment data, identifying patient problems, and developing patient goals, interventions, and outcomes for each nursing diagnosis. A concept map is your guide to nursing care in any clinical setting. You'll also find a wealth of care planning resources, including a concept map generator online.

This volume Incredibly Easy series presents the basic principles of effective communication in a light-hearted, humorous, engaging, relevant, and enjoyable style. A host character guides students through key points and clarifies difficult concepts.