LibGuides: Queens: Social Sciences Courses

APA Advocacy Washington Update newsletter.
Learn more about advocacy priorities for 2022 and stay up to date by subscribing to the weekly APA Advocacy Washington Update newsletter.
Journal of World-Systems Research
The Journal of World-Systems Research, an open access, online-only journal of the ASA Section on Political Economy of the World-System, publishes research on topics that are relevant to the analysis of world-systems.
Monitor on Psychology
Archive 2001 to Present
News and Advocacy
from the American Psychological Association
Science & Society
Science & Society is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal of Marxist scholarship. It publishes original studies in political economy and the economic analysis of contemporary societies; social and political theory; philosophy and methodology of the natural and social sciences; history, labor, ethnic and women's studies; aesthetics, literature and the arts.
Science Spotlight
source for the news and information for psychological scientists, by psychological scientists.
Socius: Sociological Research for a Dynamic World
Socius: Sociological Research for a Dynamic World provides an open access online-only forum for rapid publication of sociological research from any subfield of the discipline.
What is Sociology?
definition by by UNC
The Center for the History of Medicine and Public Health,

Ebooks
On Social Science
More E-books
on Social Science
Ebooks
on Psychology
Psychology E-books
from Psychology .org

History of Madness by Michel Foucault
ISBN: 9780415277013
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
History of Madness begins in the Middle Ages with vivid descriptions of the exclusion and confinement of lepers. Shifting brilliantly from Descartes and early Enlightenment thought to the founding of the Hôpital Général in Paris and the work of early psychiatrists Philippe Pinel and Samuel Tuke, Foucault focuses throughout, not only on scientific and medical analyses of madness, but also on the philosophical and cultural values attached to the mad.
Origin of Species by Charles Darwin
ISBN: 9781901843491
a groundbreaking scientific work by British naturalist Charles Darwin, is published in England on November 24, 1859. Darwin’s theory argued that organisms gradually evolve through a process he called “natural selection.” In natural selection, organisms with genetic variations that suit their environment tend to propagate more descendants than organisms of the same species that lack the variation, thus influencing the overall genetic makeup of the species.
DSM-5 Essentials by Lourie W. Reichenberg
ISBN: 9781118846131
Publication Date: 2013-11-13
Everything you need to know about the DSM-5(tm) in an organized and concise presentation Providing you with a quick and easy way to get up-to-speed on recent changes to the two main classification systems--DSM-5 Essentials highlights these changes in a logical and systematic manner so that you can easily make the transition from DSM-IV to DSM-5.
From Silence to Voice by Bernice Buresh; Suzanne Gordon
ISBN: 9780801467370
Publication Date: 2013-05-15
For more than a decade, From Silence to Voice has been providing nurses with communication tools they can use to win the resources and respect they deserve. Now, in a timely third edition, authors Bernice Buresh and Suzanne Gordon focus on how nurses can describe and frame their work to seize unprecedented opportunities to advance their profession and lead improvements in health care systems.
DSM-5 Overview of DSM-4 Changes by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423222699
Publication Date: 2014-05-31
Easily accessible overview of highly relevant changes from the fourth edition to the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Health Disorders (DSM) handbook used by health care professionals as a guide to diagnosing mental disorders. Changes and disorders are summarized for quick reference for use by students and/or professionals in the field.
Shirley Jackson's American Gothic by Darryl Hattenhauer
ISBN: 9780791456071
Publication Date: 2003-01-16
Best known for her short story "The Lottery" and her novel The Haunting of Hill House, Shirley Jackson produced a body of work that is more varied and complex than critics have realized. In fact, as Darryl Hattenhauer argues here, Jackson was one of the few writers to anticipate the transition from modernism to postmodernism, and therefore ranks among the most significant writers of her time.
Shirley Jackson by Joan W. Hall (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805708530
Publication Date: 1993-02-12
This is the only series to provide in-depth critical introductions to major modern and contemporary short story writers worldwide. Each volume offers: A comprehensive overview of the artists short fiction-including detailed analyses of every significant story Interviews, essays, memoirs and other biographical materials -- often previously unpublished A representative selection of critical responses A comprehensive primary bibliography, a selected bibliography of important criticism, a chronology of the artists life and works and an index
Shirley Jackson Collected Short Stories by Shirley Jackson; Robert Court (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0970903332
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Each book presents a collection of the author's best short stories, a biography, and insightful notes about the stories.

Crash Course
Videos on sociology and psychology topics
Cultural Awareness for Medical Assistants
This three-part series provides medical assistants with an understanding of the challenges of providing care to a culturally diverse patient population and describes strategies to address these needs.
Research Methods in the Social Sciences
Using psychology as its primary medium, this four-part series thoroughly explores qualitative and quantitative research methods used in a wide range of disciplines. Hosted and narrated by students, each program demonstrates the ins and outs of testing hypotheses, preparing experiments, and analyzing data—while improving knowledge of terms and concepts essential to examination boards. Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. 4-part series, 23–46 minutes each.
This Emotional Life
From neurons to neighborhoods, this three-part series explores the science and psychology of human emotion. Professor Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness, talks with experts about improving social relationships, learning to cope with depression and anxiety, and how to become more positive and resilient. Each episode weaves together the compelling personal stories of ordinary people with scientific research, along with revealing comments from celebrities such as Katie Couric, Chevy Chase, Larry David, Robert Kennedy Jr., and Richard Gere. Distributed by PBS Distribution. 3-part series, 115 minutes each.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
ale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Psychology Journals
from ProQuest and Gale made available through LIRN
Research Library: Social Sciences
This resource covers publications on social science information for researchers of all levels.
Social Science Database
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Database
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies. It includes hundreds of full-text scholarly journals, as well as dissertations and other sources.
The Asian American Experience
The first resource of its kind, The Asian American Experience examines American history through a critical lens, exploring the social, political, and economic forces that have shaped the experiences of Asian Americans.

Lend Me Your Ears by William Safire
Call Number: PN 6122 .L4 2004
ISBN: 9780393059311
Publication Date: 2004-10-17
Lend Me Your Ears contains more than two hundred outstanding moments of oratory. Covering speeches from Demosthenes to George W. Bush,
50 Speeches That Made the Modern World by Chambers
ISBN: 9781473640948
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Each speech has an introduction explaining its setting, importance and impact as well as marginal notes filling in any background information.

Chambers Classic Speeches
Brings together a diverse selection of eloquent, powerful, witty and passionate speeches, given by politicians, monarchs, rebels and intellectuals from around the world.
Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
Compilation of ithe most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.
American Rhetoric
Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration
History Channel
Audio & Video of Speeches from the History Channel
So*Just
collection of historic speeches, songs, poetry, and manifestos on human rights and social justice.