Queens: MA Courses

presents the core administrative skills needed by medical assistants and guides students through all the administrative skills needed to pass certification exams required by CAAHEP and ABHES. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about legal concerns, workplace scenarios, professionalism, and study skills. More than 300 full-color illustrations enhance visual learning. A Study Guide and an online course are available as additional purchases. A free Instructor's Resource CD-ROM including PowerPoint slides and lecture notes is available from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins to instructors who adopt the text.

Known for its thorough coverage, extensive technical detail, and accurate, up-to-date content, this proven book covers clinical tasks such as taking patients' medical histories, recording vital signs, explaining procedures, and assisting care providers during exams, as well as administrative duties including managing patient information, electronic medical records (EMR), insurance documentation, billing, and bookkeeping. In addition, chapter material and learning objectives are clearly mapped to ABHES, CAAHEP, and MAERB competencies.

The essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! In addition to updating drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, this new 36th edition includes over a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
Full of colorful illustrations, humor and friendly expert advice, this go-to reference offers solid, step-by-step guidance on the assessments, exams, tests and treatments involved in emergency, trauma and critical care — all in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy® style.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
Get all the basics on wound care—the fundamental skills and science you need, in easy-to-remember ways, including:
· Skin anatomy and physiology in easy-to-follow terms
· Basic wound care assessment, procedures, monitoring, and long-term care
· The stages of wound healing
· Wound and skin assessment tool

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to’s you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes.

Making the decision to help in an emergency situation is often a difficult choice. Be prepared for emergencies with the help of our CPR & Lifesaving QuickStudy® guide. Packed with quickly accessible information on different aspects of lifesaving, this go-to reference will help you respond effectively in an emergency until professional help arrives. Learn how to evaluate a scene, the steps in CPR and AED use, standard precautions, and other essential elements in the chain of survival. This durable, laminated guide also includes illustrations for easy understanding. Keep a copy in your home, with your camping gear, at your office, in your car, etc., so that you will always be prepared.

Thoroughly updated and expanded Third Edition of the most trusted resource for anyone involved in EEG interpretation. Designed for on-the-go reference in the clinic or at the bedside, Handbook of EEG Interpretation concisely covers the fundamental components of EEG in clinical practice with graphic examples of classic EEG presentations and essential text throughout. Six new chapters have been added to address areas of growing importance with new dedicated chapters on technical aspects and artifacts of recording. With chapters written by prominent experts, this portable reference includes updated examples and color images new to this edition to reflect current advances in the field. Using a visual approach to identifying EEG waveforms, this handbook is the prime point-of-care reference on all major EEG topics: normal and abnormal variants, epileptiform and nonepileptiform abnormalities, adult and pediatric seizures, status epilepticus, ICU EEG, and sleep; in addition to ambulatory and video-EEG monitoring, electrocorticography, and magnetoencephalography. Essential "bottom-line" information in every chapter helps guide clinicians through the many challenges of EEG interpretation to improve patient outcomes. Practical tips from authors are included in a user-friendly manner. Designed for rapid retrieval and structured review, this handbook is a highly useful tool for neurology residents and fellows, clinicians, and technologists in search of reliable EEG information, regardless of specialty or level of training. Key Features: Third edition of the comprehensive, easy to read, quick access handbook on EEG interpretation Updated to reflect advanced clinical EEG applications and techniques Expanded coverage with the addition of six entirely new chapters Provides a visual approach to identifying EEG waveforms and understanding the essence of their clinical significance with over 300 color tracings Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers

Making the decision to help in an emergency situation is often a difficult choice. Be prepared for emergencies with the help of our CPR & Lifesaving QuickStudy® guide. Packed with quickly accessible information on different aspects of lifesaving, this go-to reference will help you respond effectively in an emergency until professional help arrives. Learn how to evaluate a scene, the steps in CPR and AED use, standard precautions, and other essential elements in the chain of survival. This durable, laminated guide also includes illustrations for easy understanding. Keep a copy in your home, with your camping gear, at your office, in your car, etc., so that you will always be prepared.

The newest edition to BarCharts' line of medical guides is an essential companion for anyone studying EKGs/ECGs or working in the medical field. This guide features an introduction to EKGs and how they work and also includes detailed sections covering the main types of arrhythmias, such as sinus rhythms, atrial rhythms, junctional rhythms, ventricular rhythms, and heart blocks. Helpful illustrations, along with the rate, rhythm, P wave, PR interval, and QRS complex, of each rhythm covered are also included to help with identification.

With estimates of their numbers ranging from one million to almost four million people, allied health care personnel make up a large part of the health care work force. Yet, they are among the least studied elements of our health care system. This book describes the forces that drive the demand for and the supply of allied health practitioners--forces that include demographic change, health care financing policies, and career choices available to women. Exploring such areas as credentialing systems and the employment market, the study offers a broad range of recommendations for action in both the public and private sectors, so that enough trained people will be in the right place at the right time.

Organized around the four central themes of healthcare ethics (theoretical foundations and issues for individuals, organizations, and society), Health Care Ethics, Fourth Edition brings together the insights of a diverse panel of leading experts in the fields of bioethics, long-term care, and health administration, among others. Students will build on this critical platform to develop an extensive toolbox of analytical and problem-solving skills.

Thoroughly updated and featuring new case studies, this dynamic text will help students to better understand the issues they will face on the job and the implications in the legal arena. With contemporary topics, real-world examples, and accessible language, this comprehensive text offers students an applied perspective and the opportunity to develop critical thinking skills. Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals provides an effective transition from the classroom to the reality of a clinical environment.

the ideal prep solution for anyone who wants to pass their NHA's Certified Phlebotomy Technician Examination. Because it's written with an eye for both technical accuracy and accessibility, you will not have to worry about getting lost in dense academic language. Any test prep guide is only as good as its practice questions and answer explanations, and that's another area where our guide stands out. The Mometrix test prep team has provided plenty of Phlebotomy practice test questions to prepare you for what to expect on the actual exam. Each answer is explained in depth, in order to make the principles and reasoning behind it crystal clear. We've helped hundreds of thousands of people pass standardized tests and achieve their education and career goals.

Known for accuracy, completeness of coverage, and exacting technical detail, this proven book addresses the administrative and clinical tasks required of medical assistants while preparing them for certification exams. Divided into three sections, chapters start with general topics, including therapeutic communications, coping skills, and professionalism. Administrative chapters look behind the scenes, exploring electronic medical records, ICD-10 coding, and practice management. COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING also maps clinical topics to ABHES, CAAHEP, and MAERB competencies, as well as CLIA-waived procedures, and delivers an exhaustive set of skills: taking patient medical histories, recording vital signs, explaining procedures, assisting during exams and surgery, infection control, and more.

ICD-10-CM 2023: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, correct documentation, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement.

Billings and Collections Best Practices offers advice for implementing a plethora of best practices to greatly improve your company's level of efficiency in information reporting, including: Showing you how to create a more efficient billing operation. Demonstrating how you can reduce the error rate on bills sent to customers. Revealing specific steps for you to reduce the amount of outstanding receivables.

Guidelines on documentation in a comprehensive, clear, concise, practical, and entertaining manner. The book reviews the fundamental aspects of charting such as the medical record, the nursing process, and legal and professional requirements, guidelines for developing a solid plan of care, and the variety of charting formats currently being used. It also addresses the specific requirements for charting, whether the setting is acute care, home care, or long-term care and rehabilitation.

Health Care Finance and the Mechanics of Insurance and Reimbursement stands apart from other texts on health care finance or health insurance, in that it combines financial principles unique to the health care setting with the methods and process for reimbursement (including coding, reimbursement strategies, compliance, financial reporting, case mix index, and external auditing). It explains the revenue cycle in detail, correlating it with regular management functions; and covers reimbursement from the initial point of care through claim submission and reconciliation. Thoroughly updated for its second edition, this text reflects changes to the Affordable Care Act, Managed Care Organizations, new coding initiatives, new components of the revenue cycle (from reimbursement to compliance), updates to regulations surrounding health care fraud and abuse, changes to the Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC) program, and more.Designed to prepare health administration and health information management students with the necessary tools to successfully transition from the classroom to the health care facility, this text includes:- Basics of Health Care Finance & Financial Management- Patient Protection and the Affordable Care Act- Managed Care Organizations- Medicare Prospective Payment System (Inpatient)- Hospital Outpatient Prospective Payment Systems (OPPS)- Coding for the Non-HIM Professional- Revenue Cycle Management- Healthcare Fraud and Abuse- Electronic Health Records and Meaningful Use- Government Incentive Programs- Recovery Audit Contractors (RAC)Two new chapters cover the mechanics of hierarchical condition categories from a CMS perspective (15), and the application of HCC coding in a physican practice (16).

. Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies gives you everything you need to know to get started in medical billing and coding. Tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies Ethical and legal issues

The health care industry is moving toward a major change in the code set, or "language," used to report the reasons why a physician or health care professional provided care to a patient. Since 1978, the industry has used codes from ICD-9-CM, volume 3, to report the procedures, services, and treatments provided to inpatients in acute care facilities. Within the next few years, the transition will be made to ICD-10-PCS. The transition from ICD-9-CM, volume 3, to ICD-10-PCS will only affect those health information management professionals (and those getting ready to enter this profession) working on hospital inpatient procedure coding, but it will require even the most seasoned professionals to learn how to accurately report what has been provided to patients. With the use of tabular examples and color-coded text, this QuickStudy® guide helps make the transition smoother and promote better understanding and greater comfort with the new code set.

Known for accuracy, completeness of coverage, and exacting technical detail, this proven book addresses the administrative and clinical tasks required of medical assistants while preparing them for certification exams. Divided into three sections, chapters start with general topics, including therapeutic communications, coping skills, and professionalism. Administrative chapters look behind the scenes, exploring electronic medical records, ICD-10 coding, and practice management. COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING also maps clinical topics to ABHES, CAAHEP, and MAERB competencies, as well as CLIA-waived procedures, and delivers an exhaustive set of skills: taking patient medical histories, recording vital signs, explaining procedures, assisting during exams and surgery, infection control, and more.

Instead of scouring the Internet for ways in which to treat nagging aches and pains, let our comprehensive, three-panel guide be your one-stop resource. Several types of pains are discussed, based on location in the body, along with helpful methods to treat and prevent each one, including instances when you should seek the care of a physician. Our handy format allows you to access treatment information quickly, when you need it most, and also includes tables featuring symptoms and medication comparisons for easy reference.

Medical terminology can be a daunting course for students with a seemingly endless list of words to memorize. Medical Terminology: Active Learning Through Case Studies provides a unique approach and considers medical words in terms of common combining forms, prefixes, and suffixes to determine meaning in context.

This programmed learning, word-building approach is ideal for self-paced learning and review or in-class and online instruction! The 5th Edition of this popular textbook continues to incorporate the most current trends and approaches to teaching medical terminology. You'll explore each body system unit through a summary of major combining forms, a comprehensive pathology section, and additional medical records and evaluations, complemented by true-to-life artwork.

Reflecting current medical usage, the book facilitates study by including questions on the right side of each page and answers on the left.

Each chapter begins with an engaging case study, followed by ample opportunity for learning and applying, and concludes with reflection. Learning and application use a three-pronged approach: (1) immersion-- the terms are presented in context; (2) chunking-- the material is given in manageable units; and (3) practice--exercises allow you to check your knowledge and your ability to apply concepts to new situations.

This concise introduction to pathology covers basic pathological mechanisms and offers a detailed review of systems pathology, making it a complete, effective review for today's readers. Hundreds of high-quality images-many new to this edition-illustrate common entities, and associated captions provide key pathological points. Reader-friendly text clarifies basic and complex information, helping you understand challenging concepts more easily. Wheater's Pathology is an excellent companion resource for users of Wheater's Functional Histology, 6th Edition, offering a comparison of normal histology with the pathological changes in disease. Contains a new chapter, Introduction to Pathology and Techniques, that provides more background information on histology techniques, immunohistochemistry, molecular tests and digital pathology. Contains new, full-color illustrations that depict additional pathological entities and update classifications. Includes access to online-only material such as new questions for each chapter, and numerous macroscopic images. Incorporates cutting-edge information on molecular pathology throughout. Includes quick-reference features such as keys to the lettering in images at the bottom of each page and fully revised clinical boxes with clinical-pathological correlations that explain the relevance of the pathological processes underlying common diseases and their complications. Summarizes key points with chapter reviews at the end of each section. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
This edition has everything nurses need to know to provide high-quality patient care before, during, and after a diagnostic test. The book includes hundreds of diagnostic tests organized by category. It concisely explains why and how each test is performed, what the normal findings are, what abnormal findings may mean, how to prepare a patient for the test, how to perform or assist with the test, and how to monitor a patient after the test. Eye-catching logos, illustrations, charts, memory joggers, and quick quizzes reinforce learning.

BarCharts' newest addition to its line of health guides includes the Pills & Medications QuickStudy guide, designed for quick reference for the most common conditions affecting adults and the drugs most often used to treat them. As always, this guide uses BarCharts' trusted, easy-to-access fold-out format that, when used in conjunction with your doctor's advice, helps you keep your medication knowledge fresh and better monitor your own health conditions.