Queens: Resources for Faculty

This innovative text delivers more than 40 evidence-based teaching strategies that educators can use to engage nursing students and enhance their learning in a variety of teaching environments. It provides a wealth of new teaching designs both novice and experienced faculty can use to inspire and motivate learners in the classroom, through simulation, online, and in community or hospital settings.

The second edition of the current leading nursing text in curriculum development and evaluation continues to serve nurse educators in academic settings as well as in the practice arena. It is a practical guide for developing, revising, and evaluating nursing curricula and educational programs, complete with case studies and details on conducting a needs assessment to determine the extent of revision necessary within current curricula.

This volume] is a 'must read' for any novice educator transitioning from the role of clinician or graduate student to educator....You will] learn how to become a faculty member, integrating the competencies you bring to the setting with your new role as educator.

The authors outline a clear vision of what nursing education can and should be and provide practical exemplars of how we can achieve this vision. This is a call for us to work together as guardians of the discipline to assure that future nurses enter the health care system ready and able to meet the challenges ahead. -- PAMELA M. IRONSIDE, director, Center for Research in Nursing Education, Indiana University The profession of nursing in the United States is at a significant moment. Since the last national nursing education study almost forty years ago, profound changes in science, technology, and the nature and settings of nursing practice have reshaped the field. Yet schools have lagged behind in adapting to these changes. Added to this, the profession faces a shortage of nurses and nursing faculty. To meet these challenges, the authors assert that schools, service providers, and the profession must change. They recommend four controversial yet essential changes that are needed to transform nursing education. A volume in The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching's ­Preparation for the Professions series, the book discusses key topics for the future of the field and offers revolutionary recommendations for change.

This is an excellent review of the development of self-care deficit theory and the use of self-care in nursing practice. Explanations of the various theories and theory terms are well done and written at a level that novice theorists can relate to. The authors demonstrate how self-care science can be fiscally and effectively applied to the care of patients/clients."--Doody's Medical Reviews Dorothea Orem's Self-Care Theory has been used as a foundation for nursing practice in healthcare institutions and as the basis of curricula in nursing schools for decades. This book explores the high-level theory of the application of Orem's Self-Care Theory, and how it can improve patient outcomes as well as cost-effectiveness of nursing care delivery. Written for nursing theorists, researchers, administrators, and graduate students, the text addresses the relationship of self-care theory and evidence-based care in nursing, and provides a solution to improving contemporary healthcare outcomes. The book is divided into three sections. Section one discusses the reason for the existence of the nursing profession, and identifies the performance of self-care. Section two covers three nursing practice sciences-wholly compensatory nursing, partly compensatory nursing, and supportive educative nursing. Section three offer suggestions on how health care organizations can incorporate this broadened perspective of what constitutes evidence based practice and on-going research methodology into every-day delivery of nursing services. Key Features: Includes case examples to illustrate the application of theory to nursing practice Provides a current, cost-effective resource for implementing Orem's Self-Care Deficit Theory for effective evidence-based practice Builds the link between the application of Orem's Self Care Theory and improved patient and fiscal healthcare outcomes

Designed for existing courses within the MA curricula, this text provides initial preparation for the principles and techniques of intravenous therapy. Students will learn the basic knowledge necessary to safely and precisely administer basic IV fluids and medications within the scope of practice for their particular health care profession.

COMPACT LITERATURE: READING, REACTING, WRITING, The ninth edition features new stories, new poems, and new plays, along with a comprehensive guide to writing about literature and full coverage of critical thinking and argument.

Using the proven SQ4R (Survey, Question, Read, Recite, Reflect, and Review) active learning system to help you study smarter, Coon leads you to an understanding of major concepts as well as how psychology relates to the challenges of everyday life.

Extremely reader friendly and packed with vivid examples, ESSENTIALS OF SOCIOLOGY, 9e takes real-world scenarios and shows you how to use sociology to analyze them. It combines comprehensive coverage, socially relevant analysis, and cutting-edge research into a concise 15 chapters.