LibGuides: Queens: SPSON Celebrates Medical Assistant Recognition Week

Videos

Health & Medicine
Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine
Allied Health Films on Demand
This collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby.
EZmed
Videos, study guides and flashcards

Medical Assistant

American Association of Medical Assistants
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants® is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.
Certified Medical Assistant (CMA)
American Medical Technologists
AMA's mission is to encourage healthcare professionals to verify their skills and competence, learn and grow in their chosen profession, and maintain quality in the workplace. Registered Medical Assistant (RMA)
National Healthcareer Association
(NHA) Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)
Medical Administrative Assistant Certification (CMAA)
New York State Society of Medical Assistants
The purpose of the New York State Society of Medical Assistants is to enable medical assisting professionals to enhance and demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and professionalism required by employers and patients; to protect the medical assistants’ right to practice; and to promote effective, efficient healthcare delivery.
Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for Medical Assistants
Occupational Profile of Medical Assistants by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Nurses and Allied Health Professionals Committee
The Nursing & Allied Health Professionals Committee (NAHP) within IASLC is comprised of multidisciplinary clinicians and researchers each with a unique perspective, committed to advancing the education of both practitioners and patients in thoracic oncology. Our goal is to improve and optimize outcomes for oncology patients and families across the cancer trajectory through diagnosis, treatment, survivorship and end of life.
The Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP)
The Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP) is a national professional organization of 120 universities and employers focused on critical issues affecting allied health education.
Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC)
a collaborative to promote and encourage constituent efforts that would advance substantive interprofessional learning experiences to help prepare future health professionals for enhanced team-based care of patients and improved population health outcomes.

Do You Believe in Magic?
Read the full article here, including testimonials from patients and doctors

Resources from the AAMA (American Association of Medical Assistants)

AAMA Youtube Channel
Tutorials, conferences, and interviews from the AAMA over the years.
Content Outline For the CMA (AAMA)® Certification Exam
A free PDF breakdown of the CMA exam content by subject. Published by the Certifying Board of the American Association of Medical Assistants
FAQs on CMA (AAMA) Certification and Practice Exam
Certification FAQs, Certification Exam Eligibility Pilot Program FAQs, and Certification Practice Exam FAQs

Journals and E-Books

American Journal of Public Health
Full text coverage Jan 1992 (Vol. 82, no. 1) - present
Annals of Family Medicine
Print issues ceased with v. 19 (2021).
Prepared under the direction of the American Academy of Family Physicians, et al.
https://www.annfammed.org/
Archives
BMC Health Services Research
BMC Health Services Research is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of health services research. The journal has a special focus on digital health, governance, health policy, health system quality and safety, healthcare delivery and access to healthcare, healthcare financing and economics, implementing reform, and the health workforce.
CMA Today
(Certified Medical Assistant) current issue only
Families, Systems & Health: The Journal of Collaborative Family Healthcare
Families, Systems, & Health® is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal publishing original research, review and conceptual papers, book and media reviews, and humanities contributions in the areas of health, systems, and families science, with a particular focus on integrated care. We welcome studies sampling diverse populations, particularly historically excluded or minoritized populations, and/or using participant-engaged research methods.
The Harvard Health Letter
The Harvard Health Letter covers a range of important health topics and delivers timely, authoritative health information from the experts at Harvard .
Health Affairs
Full text coverage Winter 1981 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
The Journal of Allied Health
The Journal of Allied Health is the official publication of the Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP). The Journal is the only interdisciplinary allied health periodical, publishing scholarly works related to research and development, feature articles, research abstracts and book reviews. Readers of The Journal comprise allied health leaders, educators, faculty and students.
Journal of the National Society of Allied Health
The Journal of the National Society of Allied Health is a fully refereed scholarly publication of the National Society of Allied Health. The aim and scope of the Journal is to provide educators, students, practitioners, federal and state government officials, and the public with the latest research and trends affecting the health care status of African Americans and all disadvantaged populations.

Allied Health Services by Institute of Medicine Staff
Call Number: E- Book
ISBN: 0309039290
Publication Date: 1988-11-01
With estimates of their numbers ranging from one million to almost four million people, allied health care personnel make up a large part of the health care work force. Yet, they are among the least studied elements of our health care system. This book describes the forces that drive the demand for and the supply of allied health practitioners--forces that include demographic change, health care financing policies, and career choices available to women. Exploring such areas as credentialing systems and the employment market, the study offers a broad range of recommendations for action in both the public and private sectors, so that enough trained people will be in the right place at the right time.

AMT Pulse Magazine
The AMT Pulse Magazine is a quarterly, member publication highlighting the latest trends and education in allied health.
Medical Spanish Made Incredibly Easy!
(Just follow this link and click BOOKS@OVID in top left)
This guide will help health care professionals in all clinical settings communicate easily with Spanish-speaking patients. It presents Spanish words, phrases, questions, and instructions that cover signs and symptoms, history-taking, assessment of all body systems, mental health, diagnostic tests, disorders, medications, procedures, surgery, nutrition and diet therapy, medical equipment, and alternative and complementary therapies. Features include a picture dictionary, clear body-system illustrations with labels in both languages, rules of Spanish pronunciation and grammar, and indexes in English and Spanish.
Modern HealthCare
MH magazine offers content that sheds light on healthcare leaders’ complex choices and touch points—from strategy, governance, leadership development and finance to operations, clinical care, and marketing.
The New England Journal of Medicine
Published by the Massachusetts Medical Society, the NEJM is a prestigious and historical weekly medical journal. Certain articles relating to public health are free to view upon publishing with all original articles made publicly available after 6 months.
PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE is an inclusive journal community working together to advance science for the benefit of society, now and in the future. Founded with the aim of accelerating the pace of scientific advancement and demonstrating its value, we believe all rigorous science deserves to be published and should be discoverable, widely disseminated and freely accessible to all.