LibGuides: Queens: Resources from NLM

National Library of Medicine Resources

This NLM database contains information about clinical trials being conducted all around the world. This resource is helpful for answering questions from patients about new treatments for their health conditions. Users can search by the health condition or other keywords such as a drug name, and search results can also be filtered by location to find any clinical trials happening nearby. Study records also include links to related publications, including those that are available freely in PubMed.
Find Studies
The Find Studies section of this site describes the options for finding studies on ClinicalTrials.gov, how to use those options to find the studies you are looking for, and how to read study records.
MedLine Plus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Their mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish
National Library of Medicine - “Drug Information Portal”
The Drug Information Portal is a free Web resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides a user-friendly gateway to current information for more than 15,000 drugs. The site guides users to related resources of NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies.
Pub Med
PubMed, a free, online bibliographic resource. The database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts developed and maintained by the NIH National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Links to the full-text articles may be present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
- to find articles written about trials with a link to Clinicaltrials.gov use search term clinicaltrials.gov [si] search term
Nursing Resources for Standards and Interoperability
This resource from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides information on many standards and interoperability rules that help hospitals communicate clearly with each other and improve patient care across health care facilities. These standards include LOINC, SNOMED CT, Concept Unique Identifiers, and Meaningful Use standards for the use of electronic health records. These resources may be useful to nurses working with information technology staff to integrate health information systems, or those doing research that would benefit from vocabulary metadata.
Medline Plus Tutorial for Librarians and Health Educators
Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.From Bookshelf’s Browse Titles page you may view all of Bookshelf’s titles by title, first author/editor, publisher, publication year or type, or begin searching across the entire resource. You may browse and search across all content, or one book at a time.
Public Health Digital Library
The Public Health Digital Library (PHDL) provides state and local public health departments access to library resources, including e-journals, e-books, and databases. Resources support evidence-based practice and research in public health.
Our collection contains over 290 journals, 80 + e-books and multiple databases.

History of Medicine from NLM

NLM EXHIBITIONS
NLM exhibitions feature stories about history, society, and medicine drawn from the world-renowned collections of the NLM. Topics include history of lead poisoning in America, the yellow fever epidemic in 1793 in Philadelphia, African American surgeons, the history of women physicians, among others. Discover something new about the past!

Guides

How To Find Information About Complementary and Integrative Health Practices on PubMed
Try looking it up in PubMed®, a U.S. government database that includes citations for more than 32 million scientific papers. A new, updated version of PubMed went online in 2020, so you can use it on a computer, tablet, or phone. This guide shows you several common types of searches you might want to try.
Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach Projects
The second edition (2013) of this popular series presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods. Along with providing information about evaluation, each booklet includes a case study and worksheets to assist with outreach planning. The booklets are designed to supplement Measuring the Difference: Guide to Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach and to support NEC's evaluation workshops.

Visible Human Project

Visible Human Project
The NLM Visible Human Project® has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.
About the Visible Human Project Data
The data sets were designed to serve as (1) a reference for the study of human anatomy, (2) public-domain data for testing medical imaging algorithms, and (3) a test bed and model for the construction of network-accessible image libraries.
A Guided Tour of the Visible Human (Washington University Medical School - The MAD Scientist Network).
The Visible Human Project has generated over 18000 digitized sections of the human body. This introduction and tour uses images and animals from the project to teach key concepts in human anatomy.
Visible Human Project DICOM CT Datasets
from the University of Iowa Magnetic Resonance Research Facility.
Voxel- Man Gallery
( images and animations of the torso from the University of Hamburg).
Animating the Visible Human Data Set
(Rutgers University, VIZLAB).
In this work, we describe a method to animate the visible human dataset. The animation is done using volumetric skeleton which is computed directly from the visible human dataset. The skeleton is then imported into a commercial animation package and
animated using existing toolkits. The volumetric skeleton can be used for many other applications since it act as an advanced data structure for referencing all of the voxels in a volumetric model.

Periodicals

NIH Medline Plus
Articles in this publication are written by professional journalists. All scientific and medical information is reviewed for accuracy by representatives of the National Institutes of Health