Pensacola: Cosmetology

This popular volume on the culture of hair through human history and around the globe has been updated and revised to include even more entries and current information. How we style our hair has the ability to shape the way others perceive us. This volume examines how hair-or lack thereof-can be an important symbol of gender, class, and culture around the world and through history. Hairstyles have come to represent cultural heritage and memory, and even political leanings, social beliefs, and identity. This second edition builds upon the original volume, updating all entries that have evolved over the last decade, such as by discussing hipster culture in the entries on beards and mustaches and recent medical breakthroughs in hair loss. New entries have been added that look at specific world regions, hair coverings, political symbolism behind certain styles, and other topics.

This book focuses on introductory topics including science basics, infection control, and the importance of soft/business skills.

The complete how-to guide on all things textured hair  Natural & Curly Hair For Dummies offers you step-by-step direction and accurate information to manage and style your hair. Celebrity hairstylist Johnny Wright is here to help you ditch the chemicals and love your textured locks. You'll learn to tame frizz, keep your hair moisturized and looking luscious. With the right tricks, tips, and advice you can get a halo of soft, healthy curls just the way you want them. Plus, you'll find out how Johnny maintains the hair health of his most notable clients like Queen Latifah, Tamron Hall, Kerry Washington, and Michelle Obama.  This book offers simple and useful scalp and hair guidance for Black and Latin hair care maintenance including styling tips to properly take care of your natural hair.   Learn how natural and curly hair works, including hair porosity & hair elasticity   Deal with breakage, dryness, dandruff, shedding, tangles, and frizz  Discover techniques on coloring and bleaching natural hair Learn which ingredients and products will help keep your unique hair texture and type healthy and looking its best  Master toddler, child, and teen styles and care--for adoptive parents, parents of biracial children, and caregivers   With full-color photographs throughout, Natural & Curly Hair For Dummies will give you the skills you need to bring out the born-with-it beauty in that amazing ethnic hair! 

Milady Standard Natural Hair Care and Braiding is designed to be the training resource of choice for individuals committed to nurturing textured hair and providing excellent natural hair care services. This book introduces the technical and creative aspects of braiding, styling, and grooming hair that is naturally curly, kinky, or multi-textured. Also included, are 17 procedures with step-by-step photos and detailed instructions in techniques for styling and grooming natural hair and natural hair additions. This is a must have for those who are serious about developing a wide range of services and building a broad, diverse client base--crucial elements for success in the flourishing hair care industry.

Tracey Cunningham is the world's most in-demand hair colorist, working with Hollywood's biggest celebrities, and her influence on the beauty industry is unparalleled. In this book, Tracey traces the history of hair color and its global cultural influence and provides a practical manual for transforming your hair into its perfect true color--or even trying your hand at being an actual colorist. Tracey equips you with nutrition and lifestyle habits for healthy hair (the canvas for any good dye job), your essential pre-salon checklist, countless sources of hair color inspiration (including exclusive personal photos from and interviews with her A-list clients), and much more.

Ever wanted blue hair? How about red, purple, green, white, pink, or grey? How about a bunch of those at once? With this book, your fantasy hair can now become a reality. Written by well-known hair colorist Ash Fortis, this book includes step-by-step instructions on how to do dozens of different hair dye techniques, from highlights to hologram hair.

The history, inspiration, and muses of hair color, as told by Hollywood's top hair colorist Tracey Cunningham: True Color is the first book by the world's most celebrated and in-demand hair colorist. Cunningham's work on Hollywood's biggest celebrities and her influence on the beauty industry are unparalleled. True Color will trace the history of hair color and offer a glimpse behind Hollywood's global cultural influence and the biggest entertainment icons that have inspired Cunningham's work. The book will also serve as a practical manual and detail the nutrition habits that promote healthy, owing follicles (the canvas of any good dye job) and your pre-salon visit checklist. To help unearth your dream inspiration, whether you're a brunette, blonde, redhead, or even transitioning to natural silver, True Color will also feature exclusive interviews and personal, never-before-seen photos from some of Cunningham's biggest clients.

How to achieve amazing hair color effects at home from a simple exotic highlight to the unicorn hair of your dreams! Ever wanted blue hair? How about red, purple, green, white, pink, or grey? How about a bunch of those at once? With this book, your fantasy hair can now become a reality. Written by well-known hair colorist Ash Fortis, this book includes step-by-step instructions on how to do dozens of different hair dye techniques, from highlights to hologram hair. Featuring gorgeous photography and custom how-to illustrations, Hair to Dye For will not only show you how to dye your hair, it'll give you inspiration for amazing looks you'd never even imagined.

The Milady Standard Haircutting System is a formalized system designed to make learning the foundational principles of haircutting easier, while ensuring a solid understanding of the technical and creative aspects of haircutting that will set students up for success throughout their career. The system teaches fifteen haircuts, each delivered via brief, segmented pieces of content, that allow for the information to be easily understood and retained. It then builds and strengthens the skills that are presented by means of repetition, revision, and exploration. The system also provides students with a conceptual understanding of the components involved, teaching them to clearly communicate their creative ideas to their guests and the ability to adapt the learned techniques to ensure their approach to each individual patron will yield equally successful results.

Spa Business Strategies: A Plan for Success uses thought-provoking questionnaires, practical examples and targeted worksheets guiding the reader through each facet of business development. It covers important business topics such as the need to develop a clear vision and solid business plan; understanding demographics and identifying their target market; finding the best location or purchasing an existing spa business; planning the physical space or the architecture and design of their spa; purchasing products and equipment; technology and computer systems; developing key marketing tools and strategies; analyzing sales and productivity data; promoting retail and service sales, developing excellent communication and customer service skills, managing customer and employee relations; using financial management tools and compensation strategies that will help them to maintain their business and manage day to day operations at maximum efficiency.

In Profit First for Salons for salon, spa, and barbershop owners, Ronit Enos walks through exactly what she did to take control of her business--and her life. Using the Profit First formula, learn to build profits, destroy debt, eliminate the work-overwork cycle, and become financially sound. Includes real-world examples of salon, spa, and barbershop owners who are using Profit First to thrive, reach new heights, and create incredible freedom for themselves and their team. -- Adapted from cover

Creating a salon or spa from scratch can be a daunting task. From understanding the differences in what type of salon or spa you want to open, all the way through financing and operating for profit, you will learn the ins and outs of building a business and keeping it productive. Whether you are a student or a practicing professional, Successful Salon Management, Sixth Edition will put your on the right track to salon ownership and profitability.

The new edition features additional real life application photos, diagrams, examples, and case studies on color theory in makeup design, including new examples of tattoo covering and prosthetic painting using optical mixtures, airbrush, and stippling Features a brand-new chapter on color inspiration in make-up and design Includes expanded discussion on undertones, skin variations, color correction, pigments, colored gels, and more

Top knots, Heidi braids, French twists, oh my! Chic hair is all the rage from the runways to the blogs to the city streets. This book pulls together 80 classic and contemporary styles and provides step-by-step tutorials for each one. Trendsetters from teens to professionals will love mixing up the looks for parties, the office, a casual beach day, or an elegant night out. Simple how-to illustrations take the guesswork out of styling, while glossy fashion photographs demonstrate how to tailor and accessorize each 'do. With advice for different hair types and lengths plus product tips and fun variations, Braids, Buns, and Twists! is the must-have beauty resource for showstopping hair.

How to achieve amazing hair color effects at home from a simple exotic highlight to the unicorn hair of your dreams! Ever wanted blue hair? How about red, purple, green, white, pink, or grey? How about a bunch of those at once? With this book, your fantasy hair can now become a reality. Written by well-known hair colorist Ash Fortis, this book includes step-by-step instructions on how to do dozens of different hair dye techniques, from highlights to hologram hair. Featuring gorgeous photography and custom how-to illustrations, Hair to Dye For will not only show you how to dye your hair, it'll give you inspiration for amazing looks you'd never even imagined.

Milady Standard Updos teaches the essential steps necessary to design and create updos inspired by looks on the red carpet. Photo-driven, step-by-step instructions clearly demonstrate twenty-five different hairstyles, all of which are based on classic techniques and fashion-forward looks. Each procedure provides the opportunity to master a different set of skills that will increase confidence and the ability to provide future clients with wearable looks suitable for any occasion.

The Cosmetology Passbook® in the Test Your Knowledge Series features general test questions in this field of study. It provides hundreds of questions and answers designed to prepare you for similar types of questions to be found on a variety of exams.