Pensacola: General Education

Microbiology For Dummies is your guide to understanding the fundamentals of this enormously-encompassing field. Whether your career plans include microbiology or another science or health specialty, you need to understand life at the cellular level before you can understand anything on the macro scale.

This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, as well as a new chapter on COVID-19.

A brief, clear, thorough, and highly enjoyable updated approach to clinical microbiology, brimming with mnemonics, humor, summary charts and illustrations, from Ebola to AIDS to flesh-eating bacteria; to mad cow disease, hantavirus, anthrax, smallpox, botulism, Clostridium difficile diagnosis and treatment; treatment of gonorrhea in light of growing antimicrobial resistance; Tuberculosis diagnostics, drugs for treatment of latent TB infection and MDR TB; the latest antibiotics; pandemic flu, including H7N9; SARS-like coronavirus; the latest hepatitis C treatment options; the latest HIV diagnostics and approved HIV meds; Zika virus; Measles and a new chapter on the latest emerging infectious diseases and drug resistant bacteria.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

Understanding and managing technology is a key component in providing quality patient care today. This addition to the popular Fast Facts series provides RNs and nursing students with an accessible, concise, step-by-step introduction to the essentials of informatics and its impact on patient lives. This book delivers required competencies and frameworks for both nursing education and practice, expanding upon integral systems and technologies within our healthcare system and their impact on the responsibilities of the individual nurse. Highlighting the intricacies within a specialized approach to healthcare data, data mining, and data organization, this resource connects day-to-day informatics practices to larger initiatives and perspectives. Clear and concise synopses of healthcare essentials, case studies, and abundant practical examples help readers understand how health informatics improves patient care within the nursing scope of practice. Thought-provoking questions in each chapter facilitate in-depth considerations on chapter content.

Learn how information technology intersects with today's health care! Health Informatics: An Interprofessional Approach, 3rd Edition, follows the tradition of expert informatics educators Ramona Nelson and Nancy Staggers with new lead author, Lynda R. Hardy, to prepare you for success in today's technology-filled healthcare practice. Concise coverage includes information systems and applications, such as electronic health records, clinical decision support, telehealth, mHealth, ePatients, and social media tools, as well as system implementation. New to this edition are topics that include analytical approaches to health informatics, increased information on FHIR and SMART on FHIR, and the use of health informatics in pandemics.

This new edition of the classic textbook on health informatics provides readers in healthcare practice and educational settings with an unparalleled depth of information on using informatics methods and tools. However, this new text speaks to nurses and -- in a departure from earlier editions of this title -- to all health professionals in direct patient care, regardless of their specialty, extending its usefulness as a textbook. This includes physicians, therapists, pharmacists, dieticians and many others. In recognition of the evolving digital environments in all healthcare settings and of interprofessional teams, the book is designed for a wide spectrum of healthcare professions including quality officers, health information managers, administrators and executives, as well as health information technology professionals such as engineers and computer scientists in health care. The book is of special interest to those who bridge the technical and caring domain, particularly nurse and medical informaticians and other informaticians working in the health sciences. Nursing Informatics: An Interprofessional and Global Perspective contains real-life case studies and other didactic features to illustrate the theories and principles discussed, making it an ideal resource for use within health and nursing informatics curricula at both undergraduate and graduate level, as well as for workforce development. It honors the format established by the previous editions by including a content array and questions to guide the reader. Readers are invited to look out of the box through a dedicated global perspective covering health informatics applications in different regions, countries and continents. 

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

Ensure you have the skills to effectively communicate with patients and other healthcare professionals! With its easy-to-read style, Effective Communication for Health Professionals, 2nd edition, is loaded with useful tips and exercises to help you learn the universal (and necessary) practice of communication. This full-color second edition reflects current therapeutic techniques, including Communication Guidelines feature boxes, Words at Work dialogue boxes, added case studies, and all-new content exploring the most current communication tools in the modern health care setting. In addition, interactive exercises on the Evolve companion website encourages you to practice therapeutic communication techniques in real-life situations.

Designed with you in mind, Tamparo/Lindh/Blesi's THERAPEUTIC COMMUNICATION FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS, 5th Edition, is the complete guide to patient interactions in today's clinical care settings. Effective communication can ease patient anxiety, increase compliance and enhance health care interactions, especially when dealing with life-altering illness, death and dying, depression, substance use and abuse and other situations where patient behaviors can be unpredictable. In each chapter, you will explore caregivers' good and bad responses to stressful scenarios and techniques for improvement. Each chapter starts with a case study to bring life to the page and reinforces communication strategies with practice cases, boxed features, role-play exercises and questions throughout the text. No matter the situation you face on the job, THERAPEUTIC COMMUNICATION FOR HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONALS can prepare you with the soft skills you need to think critically and help patients cope.

This reference book, updated for the 7th edition of the APA, simplifies the process of writing using the APA writing style.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.

Regardless of the field, math competency is essential to the job duties of every healthcare professional. Basic Math for Health Professionals: A Worktext with Online Course is designed to help you establish a solid foundation of math skills and knowledge through a simple, step-by-step process that makes learning math as unintimidating as possible. Each math concept is explained in detail and begins with basic math skills and concepts and continues to more complex calculations and formulas.

This reference book, updated for the 7th edition of the APA, simplifies the process of writing using the APA writing style.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

This reference book, updated for the 7th edition of the APA, simplifies the process of writing using the APA writing style.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

This reference book, updated for the 7th edition of the APA, simplifies the process of writing using the APA writing style.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.

The Essential Pocket Guide for Clinical Nutrition, Third Edition is a quick-reference guide for dietitians, students, and other health professionals actively engaged in clinical nutrition, providing them with immediate access to evidence-based information on nutritional assessment, nutrition support, and nutrition considerations for specific diseases such as cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and pulmonary disease. Using the latest nutritional guidelines, the authors utilize a consistent chapter format that includes sections on disease process, treatment and nutritional intervention, and patient education, making it easy to find the relevant information. New sections consider the nutrition implications of dementia, Alzheimer's, and Parkinson's; nutritional care for bone marrow transplant patients; food safety in intestinal transplant operations; and more.

This review module is a component of the Comprehensive Assessment and Review Program and is designed to be used in conjunction with content area exams. It Includes key points and critical thinking exercises (with answer keys) for nursing management for a variety of conditions.

This reference book, updated for the 7th edition of the APA, simplifies the process of writing using the APA writing style.

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process—from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.