Pensacola: Nursing (PN)

Medical terminology can be a daunting course for students with a seemingly endless list of words to memorize. The text is organized by body system with related terms describing anatomical features, pathologies, and procedures grouped together in story form for easy recall.

The first book to teach physical assessment techniques based on evidence and clinical relevance. Grounded in an empirical approach to history-taking and physical assessment techniques, this text for healthcare clinicians and students focuses on patient well-being and health promotion.

This pocket guide provides quick access to 83 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques, and also suggest nursing interventions for potential complications. The book's portable size and spiral binding make it an ideal companion during clinical rotations. Reflecting the latest in evidence-based practice, this study tool and clinical reference helps you perform core nursing skills safely and effectively. Authoritative content is based on and matches Perry, Potter, Ostendorf & Laplante's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 10th Edition, making this book ideal as a quick, handy skills reference for information in the core text.

In Basic Math & Pre-Algebra All-in-One For Dummies, you'll find everything you need to be successful in your next math class and tackle basic math tasks in the real world. Whether you're trying to get a handle on pre-algebra before moving to the next grade or looking to get more comfortable with everyday math--such as tipping calculations or balancing your checkbook--this book walks you through every step--in plain English, and with clear explanations--to help you build a firm foundation in math.

Overcome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it.

Dosage calculation can be very challenging and intimidating for students, however, veteran author, Anna Curren breaks down this subject using the dimensional analysis method which reduces all calculations into a single, easy-to-solve equation. This takes the fear-factor out of manual math altogether. Many students have raved about how previous editions of this text helped them through their medical math course and succeed in clinical practice.

Regardless of the field, math competency is essential to the job duties of every healthcare professional. Basic Math for Health Professionals: A Worktext with Online Course is designed to help you establish a solid foundation of math skills and knowledge through a simple, step-by-step process that makes learning math as unintimidating as possible. Each math concept is explained in detail and begins with basic math skills and concepts and continues to more complex calculations and formulas.

**Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025!**
This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text.
Also availble online!

Calculate the correct drug dosage every single time with help from this essential nursing guide. In the newly revised Second Edition of Calculation Skills for Nurses, author Claire Boyd delivers a practical and effective treatment of crucial nursing calculation abilities designed to instill confidence and competence in healthcare professionals. Written for anyone working in the healthcare setting who requires mathematical assistance. This latest edition includes more practice activities, greater inclusivity, more test questions, more practice with budgets and data interpretation. You'll use a formula-based approach and gain the understanding necessary to know when to apply which formula and why.

Clinical Skills for Nurses is designed to help student nurses understand the practice of common clinical skills and procedures in various healthcare environments, from the acute hospital ward to the community setting. Written by a highly experienced nurse and Practice Development Trainer, this pocket-sized guide covers 16 clinical skills in an accessible, step-by-step format. Numerous activities and exercises build your confidence and competence, whilst end-of-chapter questions test your understanding of intravenous therapy, tracheotomy care, bowel care, early patient assessment and response, basic life support, and more. Now in its second edition, Clinical Skills for Nurses provides new and updated material throughout, including information about the PUREWICK female external catheter, constipation, moisture lesions, Aseptic Non-Touch Technique (ANTT), and the National Early Warning Score (NEWS2). This edition also includes more 'Test Your Knowledge' questions, new links to internet resources, and coverage of four additional clinical skills: stoma care, continence care, anaphylaxis, and performing an electrocardiogram (ECG).

Put essential nursing skills and procedures at your fingertips! Based on Potter & Perry's bestselling textbook Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, this pocket guide provides quick access to 83 key nursing skills in a convenient, A-to-Z format. Step-by-step instructions include full-color photos plus rationales explaining why and how to use specific techniques, and also suggest nursing interventions for potential complications. The book's portable size and spiral binding make it an ideal companion during clinical rotations. Reflecting the latest in evidence-based practice, this study tool and clinical reference helps you perform core nursing skills safely and effectively. Authoritative content is based on and matches Perry, Potter, Ostendorf & Laplante's Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 10th Edition, making this book ideal as a quick, handy skills reference for information in the core text.

Half pharmacology, half dosage calculations--plus an intensive, yet clear & simple review of basic math and online quizzing! Here's the must-have knowledge and guidance students need to gain a solid understanding of pharmacology and the safe administration of medications in one text. A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare them to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting.

Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.
Also available online!

Dosage Calculations Made Easy: Solving Problems Using Dimensional Analysis, 8th Edition, equips students with the critical-thinking and problem-solving capabilities to embrace the challenges ahead throughout their healthcare education and professional careers.

Designed to help health care professionals who are looking for a simple, step-by-step approach to math calculations, Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 6th edition is a fully illustrated guide that offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes. It explains how to work with different formulas such as ratios, proportions, ratio proportions, and the "Desired Over Have" formula. Whether you have a little or a lot of experience working with formulas, conversions, or rounding numbers, the information in this book will help you apply medication administration principles in the clinical setting.

Pharmacology for Nurses: A Pathophysiologic Approach links pharmacology to therapeutic goals, to simplify concepts and add relevance. Instead of surveying drug interventions in isolation, the authors examine them in the context of body systems (via units) and diseases (via chapters). They also weigh the impact of alternative therapies, research findings, and cultural and lifespan factors on clinical decisions.

From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses.
Also available online!

For more than 40 years ASHP has published the most trusted resource for injectable drug information. Our new ASHP® Injectable Drug Information now delivers the same high-quality content that you can expect from ASHP with even more of the information you need to make decisive patient care decisions. The 2023 edition of the industry's go-to guide is newly updated with the latest information, the full list of the AHFS® Pharmacologic-Therapeutic Classification© system, multiple new monographs, and nearly 200 new references for a total of over 24,000 total compatibility pairs. ASHP® Injectable Drug Information™ 2023 features more than 400 monographs, including: Brexanolone Cefiderocol sulfate tosylate Oritavancin Oliceridine fumarate Remdesivir Remimazolam besylate Sildenafil citrate.

Providing key information at a glance, this timely resource for the home care nurse offers clear, current practice guidelines for safely delivering IV therapy within the home. Written by one of the foremost experts in the field, the guide delivers not only evidence-based information in an easy-to-access, bulleted format, but also extensive descriptions, discussions, and rationale for in-depth consultation.

This complete how-to on administering and monitoring different IV medications delivers clear direction on vital concepts, terms, and techniques--backed by numerous illustrations, confidence-building humor, and expert insights. Offering clear, concise direction for nursing students, this popular Incredibly Easy!® text is also the ideal refresher for nurses and all practitioners who want to learn best practices for a range of infusion therapies.

Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Also available online!

Fluids & Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy!®, 8th Edition, is your quick-reference guide to success in understanding fluids and electrolytes at every stage of your nursing career--in class, on the unit, as you prepare for the NCLEX®, and whenever you need a refresher. Step-by-step directions boost your confidence in balancing fluids and electrolytes, understanding fluid imbalances and the disorders that cause them, treating imbalances, and more.

This 640 page review and study guide is an invaluable and complete overview of core medical surgical nursing content. Information is organized into units covering the foundations of nursing care, body systems and physiological processes, and perioperative nursing care. Chapters within these units conform to one of three organizing principles for presenting the content by basic concepts, diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, or system disorders. Application exercises are included at the end of each chapter, including NCLEX-style questions as well as other item types that require application of knowledge.

Feeling anxious or unsure about medical-surgical nursing care? Get grounded in the latest best practices, with the freshly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition.    This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Also available online!

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025!
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Easy! 4th Edition is illustrated with hundreds of drawings, diagrams, and photos to support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on many of the skills needed for head-to-toe physical assessments of every body system. The step-by-step guidance builds your confidence to perform thorough, accurate health assessments from the minute you start your career.

The Cardiovascular System at a Glance is the essential reference guide to understanding all things circulatory. Concise, accessible, and highly illustrated, this latest edition presents an integrated overview of the subject, from the basics through to application. Featuring brand new content on stroke, examination and imaging, heart block and ECGs, and myopathies and channelopathies.

Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Also available online!

Feeling anxious or unsure about medical-surgical nursing care? Get grounded in the latest best practices, with the freshly updated Medical-Surgical Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!®, 5th Edition.    This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

Assure your mastery of medical-surgical nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. This popular resource features about 2,200 questions (including more alternate-format questions) that reflect the latest advances in medical-surgical nursing and the latest NCLEX-RN® test plan. They organize the seemingly huge volume of information you must master into manageable sections divided by body systems and specific diseases.

"Hone your ability to make sound clinical nursing judgment via a conceptual approach to teaching and learning with Harding & Snyder’s Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing, 7th Edition. This time-tested case study approach is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. With each adoption, you’ll be able to tap into 150 unique case studies covering all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing, all newly organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 7th edition features a new concept-based organization, an enhanced focus on interprofessional collaboration and QSEN, 20 all-new case studies, and updated content throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice." --From Publisher's site.

Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Also available online!

Step-by-step directions boost your confidence in balancing fluids and electrolytes, understanding fluid imbalances and the disorders that cause them, treating imbalances, and more. Helpful tips throughout reinforce key concepts, provide important care reminders, and strengthen your problem-solving and patient teaching capabilities. This 8th Edition is thoroughly updated with the latest insights and practices to ready you for success in today's nursing practice and beyond.

4 Stars from Doody's Review Service
This colorful fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise descriptions of crucial medical-surgical nursing concepts and procedures, with learning aids that help you grasp skills and concepts easily, in an enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From assessment and diagnostics to current evidence-based treatments and interventions, this is the perfect backup to class materials, helpful support for new nurses, and a handy refresher for experienced nurses.

This quick-access clinical reference for nurses in adult health settings addresses the most prevalent and complex management challenges in caring for people with dementia. The second edition-completely updated with the newest guidelines for evidence-based, person-centered care-includes two new chapters on the Emotional Needs of People with Dementia and Self-Neglect and Elder Abuse, along with new information on cultural considerations and distinguishing between dementia and delirium. Quotes from people with dementia are included in this edition to give first-person accounts of their experiences.

The go-to textbook for the treatment and management of long-term conditions in adults. In Long-term Conditions in Adults at a Glance, a team of distinguished health and social care professionals delivers concise and engaging contemporary knowledge about health and associated disorders. The textbook's format, which includes visually appealing figures and tables, is particularly beneficial for those who prefer a visual approach to understanding complex concepts.

Provide the best care for older adults. Prepare your students to meet the growing demand for licensed practical/vocational nurses with the knowledge and skills to provide quality care to older adults. Easy-to-understand writing and a positive outlook enliven every page of this popular resource.

Gerontological nursing remains a critical specialty area for the profession of nursing, especially as the older adult population grows. The Fifth Edition of Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care takes a holistic approach and teaches students how to provide quality patient care for the older adult, preparing them to effectively care for this population. Students and faculty appreciate the practical approach as well as the author's logical organization of competency-based content both of which are a hallmark of this text. Following the framework outlined by the AACN's recommended baccalaureate competencies and curricular guidelines for the care of older adults, the text guides students through the core foundations of gerontological nursing as a specialty. The Fifth Edition emphasizes these essential competencies coupled with the management of geriatric syndromes that impact this population including falls, sleep disorders, depression/anxiety, and elder abuse.

Assure your mastery of psychiatric mental health nursing knowledge while honing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills. Rationales for both correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you critically analyze the question types. Plus, Clinical Judgment Case Studies and a 100-question exam at the end of the text help you assess your overall comprehension.

With guidance that applies to any healthcare setting, this colorfully illustrated guide walks you through the vital skills needed for psychiatric mental health nursing care, offering solid support for being exam-ready and for handling a range of mental health and substance use concerns while on the job.

Over 1,160 NCLEX®-style questions on maternal and newborn nursing care reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. Together, with a comprehensive exam at the end of the book, they provide the practice you need to build your confidence for course exams and the NCLEX.

This friendly guide's colorful images and helpful learning aids offer the latest in nursing interventions for prenatal care basics, including high-risk pregnancy, family planning, contraception and infertility, labor and birth, and postpartum care, presented in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. Offering practice questions written in NCLEX® exam format, this is the ideal support for nursing students and new nurses preparing for certification and the everyday challenges of the maternal-neonatal unit.

Assure your mastery of pediatric nursing knowledge while improving your critical-thinking and test-taking skills. Over 950 NCLEX®-style questions on pediatrics and growth and development reflect the latest test plan, including the more difficult SATA format. Rationales for correct and incorrect responses as well as test-taking tips help you to critically analyze the question types. Together with a comprehensive exam at the end of the book, they provide the practice you need to build your confidence for course exams and the NCLEX.

This fully illustrated, enjoyable guide offers easy-to-remember ways to strengthen your understanding and retention of common pediatric conditions at every level of child development. An irreplaceable on-the-job reference for all new nurses, this go-to resource supports class materials, is the ideal study partner for NCLEX®, HESI or CPN exam preparation, and is an excellent refresher for experienced nurses.

The NCLEX-PN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's NCLEX-PN Prep, Seventeenth Edition (new for 2025) helps you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. This streamlined book is packed with test-like Next Generation NCLEX (NGN) practice questions, along with step-by-step guidance on how to think your way through to the correct answer for every question type you'll see on the exam.

Build the skills needed to apply prioritization, delegation, and assignment concepts to nursing practice! Providing a solid foundation in coordinated care, Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment in LPN/LVN Nursing uses practical exercises to prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® (NGN) examination and to boost your job readiness. It helps you develop clinical judgment skills by guiding you through patient care scenarios progressing from common to complex.

Every page of this conceptual NCLEX-PN Review Guide contains essential clinical practice to develop the clinical judgment skills needed to be successful on NCLEX the first time. This conceptual review guide is a one-of-a-kind resource that takes you to the bedside of clients to prepare you for NCLEX. In this conceptual process, you will learn more about how the exam looks, what it measures, and how it is scored.  Online resources provide you with additional NCLEX®-style questions, including Next Gen style questions.

Take an exciting journey to success in your LPN/LVN career! Emphasizing leadership and clinical judgment skills, Success in Practical / Vocational Nursing: From Student to Leader, 10th Edition helps you navigate your way through nursing school, examinations, the job search, and success in professional practice. It describes the building blocks essential to a successful career, such as critical thinking, ethics, effective communication, and an understanding of your role in the nursing process. Also useful are review questions to help you get ready for the NCLEX-PN® examination.

Get ready to pass the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination (NGN-PN) on your first try with Developing Clinical Judgment for Practical/Vocational Nursing and the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination. Exercises range from basic to more complex and address all key content areas to fully prepare you for all facets of the exam. This "next-generation" workbook will become an invaluable companion throughout nursing school, helping you grow your clinical reasoning skills to match what's expected on the NGN-PN!

The NCLEX-PN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-PN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. Fully revised for the April 2023 test change, this edition scrutinizes the Next Generation NCLEX question types and spells out how to answer each.

To pass the NCLEX-PN® exam on your first try, you need practice! Saunders Q & A Review for the NCLEX-PN® Examination, 6th Edition prepares you for exam success with more than 5,600 practice questions, each reflecting current nursing knowledge and the latest test plan framework. Answer questions in the book, or go to the Evolve website to answer interactive questions in Study mode or in Exam mode for a more realistic testing experience. To enhance your review, each practice question includes a test-taking strategy and rationales for both correct and incorrect answers.

Who says studying has to be boring? The Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-PN® Exam, 10th Edition　uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to bring difficult concepts to life and help you recall the content you need to know to excel on the NCLEX-PN examination. Written in a concise and visually appealing outline format, this book makes learning and studying easier and more fun. The companion Evolve website includes more than 3,000 review questions, including alternate item and Next Generation NCLEX® formats, and allows you to personalize your study by creating practice exams, identifying strengths and weaknesses, and reviewing answers and rationales.