LibGuides: Pensacola: Dental Assisting

Dental Assisting Course Resources

HIPAA for Allied Health Careers by Cynthia Newby
Call Number: KF3827.R4 N535 2009
ISBN: 9780073374123
Publication Date: 2008
HIPAA for Allied Health Careers provides students with the must-know information on HIPAA compliance. Titles I (COBRA) and II (HIPAA) are covered. The HIPAA privacy, security, and e-transactions are taught in depth. The concluding chapter presents the recently-published final HIPAA enforcement rule, and also provides an overview of compliance guidelines for the various allied health career settings, such as hospital-, physician practice, and billing-service based careers. Throughout the chapters, students think through case scenarios that cover the types of situations in which allied health personnel will need to make the correct choices for protecting patient privacy under HIPAA.
Head, Neck and Dental Anatomy by Marjorie J. Short; Deborah Levin-Goldstein
Call Number: QM535 .H432 2022
ISBN: 9780357457122
Publication Date: 2022
Providing the most up-to-date coverage available, this text combines engaging yet concise instructional content with full-color figures and photos that illuminate anatomical details of the mouth and teeth. More student-friendly than ever, the new edition includes worksheets with additional multiple-choice and labeling questions -- helping you maximize your success in the course and on the CDA exam. Photos of actual teeth are also included, and the most important features of each tooth are detailed in brief charts that make excellent study guides.
Dental Terminology by Calista Kindle; Charline M. Dofka
Call Number: RK28 .K51 2022
ISBN: 9780357456828
Publication Date: 2022
Providing a solid foundation for the dental field, this quick reference guide breaks down complicated dental word parts so you can easily learn their meanings. Its innovative word-building approach helps dental assistants understand and remember terminology. Instead of a strict dictionary of dental terms, it serves as a word bank with pronunciation guides and definitions applied to specific practice areas. Chapters are organized by specialty area, so you can quickly find the information you need.
Dental Anatomy Coloring Book by Margaret J. Fehrenbach (Editor); Saunders
Call Number: RK280 .D414 2008
ISBN: 9781416047896
Publication Date: 2008
This resource helps you learn different structures and tests your knowledge of anatomy in a unique coloring book format. Numbered leader lines clearly identify the structures to be colored and correspond to a numbered list appearing below the illustration and make it easy to see the dental anatomy. You can also create your own "color code" by coloring in the boxed number that appears on the illustration and using the same color to fill in the corresponding numbered box on the list below. A general, introductory overview of the entire body prepares you to move on to more complex areas of the head and neck, including the oral cavity, dentition, skeletal system, muscles, nerves, and more.

ADA Code of Ethics & Professional Conduct	Nemours KidsHealth: Mouth & Teeth
Dental Numbering Systems (Primary Teeth)	Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) (from ADA)
Development of Teeth	Patient Bill of Rights via Columbia College of Dental Medicine
MedlinePlus: Mouth and Teeth	Tooth Chart: Tooth Numbering System
Tooth Development

Burton's Microbiology for the Health Sciences by Paul G. Engelkirk; Janet L. Duben-Engelkirk
Call Number: QW4 En 2011
ISBN: 9781605476735
Publication Date: 2011
Written in a straightforward and engaging style, this premier textbook provides students with the foundation in microbiology that they need to perform their day-to-day duties in a safe and knowledgeable manner. Coverage includes the core themes and concepts outlined for an introductory course by the American Society for Microbiology. Developed for current and future healthcare professionals, the text offers vital coverage of antibiotics and other antimicrobial agents, epidemiology and public health, hospital-acquired infections, infection control, and the ways in which microorganisms cause disease.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. Miller
Call Number: RK52 .M647 2023
ISBN: 9780323764049
Publication Date: 2023
Emphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, this book is an essential resource for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as coverage of patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious diseases, while real-world case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application.

Controlling Exposure to Chemical Hazards & Toxic Substances	Oral Health & Nutrition Guidance for Professionals
Infection Control and Sterilization (ADA)	Sterilization and Disinfection of Patient-Care Items and Devices
Infection Control In Dental Settings

Dental Assisting Instruments and Materials Guide by Pat Norman; Donna J. Phinney; Judy H. Halstead
Call Number: RK681 .N842 2021
ISBN: 9780357457405
Publication Date: 2021
Compact yet comprehensive, Dental Assisting Instruments and Materials Guide, 3rd edition, offers an ideal, quick-reference resource that covers the various instruments and materials used in all practice areas of modern dentistry. Detailed coverage of proper functions, properties, precautions and tray setups is supported by hundreds of full-color photos that make memorization easier. This convenient handbook equips you with the fundamental instrument and equipment knowledge today's dental assistants need for success in a continually advancing field.

Dental Materials by W. Stephan Eakle; Kimberly G. Bastin
Call Number: RK652.5 .E11 2021
ISBN: 9780323596589
Publication Date: 2021
Stay up-to-date with the uses, properties, and handling of dental materials! This hands-on resource features clinically focused content supplemented liberally with high-quality photographs, case applications, clinical tips and warnings, and step-by-step procedures, as well as practice opportunities on a companion website.
Introduction to Dental Materials
Call Number: RK652.5 .N818 2024
ISBN: 9780702081088
Publication Date: 2024
Introduction to Dental Materials discusses and explains the science of clinical and laboratory dental materials. It will help you understand the properties, limitations and safe usage of different materials, and how to navigate this rapidly changing field to choose the most appropriate materials for your patients.

Woelfel's Dental Anatomy, Enhanced Edition by Rickne C. Scheid; Gabriela Weiss
Call Number: QM311 .W842 2020
ISBN: 9781284218244
Publication Date: 2020
The book's detailed coverage of dental anatomy and terminology prepares students for success on national board exams, while up-to-date information on the application of tooth morphology to dental practice prepares them for success in their future careers. Updated throughout with the latest scientific and technological advances, the Ninth Edition features expanded content, new tooth identification labeling exercises, additional board-style learning exercises, and a substantially updated full-color art and design program.

Copies are available online and in print!
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. Miller
Call Number: RK52 .M647 2023
ISBN: 9780323764049
Publication Date: 2023
Emphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, this book is an essential resource for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as coverage of patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious diseases, while real-world case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application.
Radiography and radiology for dental care professionals
Call Number: RK309 .W551 2021
ISBN: 9780702076831
Publication Date: 2020
"Written in an easy-to-read, accessible manner and now with a new colour design to aid learning, each page has been carefully designed to ensure clarity of understanding to enable both confidence and safety in the clinical situation and exam success. Radiography, radiation protection and interpretation of dental diseases are addressed and accompanied by a range of online self-assessment exercises. Suitable for all Dental Care Professionals, this book has become essential reading for all those preparing to undertake examinations in dental radiography and who intend to undertake clinical imaging as part of their day-to-day practice." --From Publisher.
Introduction to Dental Materials
Call Number: RK652.5 .N818 2024
ISBN: 9780702081088
Publication Date: 2004
Introduction to Dental Materials discusses and explains the science of clinical and laboratory dental materials. It will help you understand the properties, limitations and safe usage of different materials, and how to navigate this rapidly changing field to choose the most appropriate materials for your patients.

The Evolution of Matrix Systems for Composite Restorations	Operative Clinic Manual
Introduction to Implant Dentistry Student Guide	Restorative Dentistry

Frommer's Radiology for the Dental Professional (E-Book) by Jeanine J. Stabulas-Savage
Call Number: R2 Library (E-Book)
ISBN: 9780323570121
Publication Date: 2019
With a wealth of features that underscore practical application, you will not only learn the proper step-by-step techniques for safe and effective dental imaging, but you'll also learn how to evaluate and, if applicable, interpret the images. This full-color 10th Edition boasts new content on digital imaging, expanded information on radiation safety and infection control, plus updated new photos of the latest techniques and technology. New chapter summaries and review questions further reinforce your understanding and application skills, and feature boxes help you troubleshoot and prevent common errors.
Dental Radiography by Joen Iannucci; Laura Jansen Howerton
Call Number: RK309 .I11 2022
ISBN: 9780323695503
Publication Date: 2022
Master the skills required for safe, effective dental imaging! Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques, 6th Edition provides a solid foundation in the radiation and technique basics that dental assistants and dental hygienists need to know. Clear, comprehensive coverage includes detailed, step-by-step procedures, illustrations of oral anatomy and photos of new equipment, digital and three-dimensional imaging, a guide to image interpretation, and National Board Dental Hygiene Examination-style case scenarios.
Radiography and radiology for dental care professionals
Call Number: RK309 .W551 2021
ISBN: 9780702076831
Publication Date: 2020
"Written in an easy-to-read, accessible manner and now with a new colour design to aid learning, each page has been carefully designed to ensure clarity of understanding to enable both confidence and safety in the clinical situation and exam success. Radiography, radiation protection and interpretation of dental diseases are addressed and accompanied by a range of online self-assessment exercises. Suitable for all Dental Care Professionals, this book has become essential reading for all those preparing to undertake examinations in dental radiography and who intend to undertake clinical imaging as part of their day-to-day practice." --From Publisher.

Digital Imaging in Dentistry: Intraoral, Extraoral, and 3D Technology	Practical Panoramic Radiography
Intraoral Radiography - Principles, Techniques and Error Correction	Processing the Radiograph

Practice Management for the Dental Team by Betty Ladley Finkbeiner; Charles Allan Finkbeiner
Call Number: K58 .F499 2020
ISBN: 9780323597654
Publication Date: 2020
Learn the skills you need to manage a modern dental business. Practice Management for the Dental Team 9th Edition is a comprehensive, one-stop resource that presents practical information on everything from managing patients to running the business. This unique text includes a wide range of dental office skills which are mapped to the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) test blueprint including technology, communications, appointment setting, dental charting, business office procedures, financial arrangements, and more! New to the ninth edition is even more in-depth information on alternative workforce models, production, insurance, and inventory along with an added emphasis on roles of the entire dentistry team.
CDT 2023: Current Dental Terminology (E-Book) by American Dental Association
Call Number: R2 Library (E-Book)
ISBN: 9781684471744
Publication Date: 2023
CDT 2023: Current Dental Terminology, from ADA, the source of the CDT codes. The 2023 edition includes updates across eight categories, with 22 new codes, 14 revisions, and 2 deletions. Features new codes for: Intraoral tomosynthesis and 3D surface scans; HPV vaccine administration; Guided tissue regeneration; Intraoral radiograph images; Gingival flap procedures; Full mouth debridement; Gingival irrigation.
CDT 2022 Coding Companion by American Dental American Dental Association
Call Number: RK28 ADA 2022
ISBN: 9781684470709
Publication Date: 2022
Whether coding for a routine appointment or a unique scenario, this training guide helps dental coders submit complete and accurate claims. This companion book to CDT 2022: Current Dental Terminology reviews key definitions and concepts and goes over the 2022 changes to each category. It compiles more than 200 frequently asked coding questions with thorough explanations and provides more than 140 common dental coding scenarios with explanations of how to properly resolve them.

ADA Dental Claim Form With Instructions	How To Increase Communication In Eight Areas Of The Dental Office
Dental Practice Management	Insurance Claim Processing Manual

Clinical Applications of Digital Dental Technology by Radi Masri (Editor); Carl F. Driscoll (Editor)
Call Number: RK656 .C641 2023
ISBN: 9781119800583
Publication Date: 2023
Clinical Applications of Digital Dental Technology provides comprehensive yet practical references to a wide range of potential uses for digital technology in dental practice, discussing a wide range of digital technologies including their indications, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, limitations, and applications. Overall, the book emphasizes how to use digital dentistry in daily practice across all specialties. With broad coverage of the subject, this text discusses digital imaging, digital impressions, digital prosthodontics, digital implant planning and placement, and digital applications in endodontics, orthodontics, and oral surgery.

Job Search Techniques	Resume Guide
Professionalism in the Workplace	Workplace Professionalism
American Medical Technologists Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) Certification Competencies & Examinations Specifcations

Access this LIRN Database for Dental Assisting exam prep resources. Create a FREE account to track your progress!

Secrets of the CDA Exam Study Guide by Mometrix Dental Assistant Certification Test Team (Editor)
Call Number: RK60.5 .C386 2023
ISBN: 9781609716066
Publication Date: 2023
Secrets of the CDA Exam helps you ace the Certified Dental Assistant Examination, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive Secrets of the CDA Exam study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test.
Mosby's Dental Assisting Exam Review by Betty Ladley Finkbeiner
Call Number: RK60.5 .F499 2023
ISBN: 9780323812344
Publication Date: 2022
Based on the content in the Certified Dental Assistant (CDA®) examination administered by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB), the book provides a comprehensive review of general chairside assisting, radiation health and safety, and infection control.
National Dental Assistant Boards (NDAB) by National Learning Corporation
Call Number: RK60.5 .N277 2018
ISBN: 9781731850874
Publication Date: 2018
The National Dental Assistant Boards (DANB) Passbook® prepares you by sharpening the skills and abilities necessary to succeed on your upcoming entrance exam. It provides a series of informational texts as well as hundreds of questions and answers in the areas that will likely be covered on your upcoming exam, including but not limited to: dental anatomy; oral health and preventive dentistry; dental materials; lab materials and procedures; and more.